We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't impressed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Porto

Il Porto
200 South Market Street, Frederick, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 330 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a wonderful Italian restaurant. Mr. Cruz and his staff do a splendid job with food and service. I highly recommend it.
Woodbine, Maryland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I ordered Chicken Marsala, it was horrible. Three small, thin, dry pieces of chicken, swimming on a plate of runny brown gravy. One bite was not edible, some sort of tendon so I had to remove it from my mouth in front of my friends, wasn't happy about it. My husbands lasagne was good. Overall it is very expensive for the portion and quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food here is plentiful and really good. The wait staff are friendly and helpful. The only criticism is that you don't want to order any seafood dish on a Monday evening--not sure when the fresh batch comes in, but it's definitely in not Monday. Nonetheless, this is one of our favorites in Frederick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Delicious food, excellent service, charming ambiance. Definitely worth a visit on your next visit to Frederick.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellant dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Il Porto for lunch. It's a very comfortable setting, very attentive service and the food was great. Our waiter was friendly and very knowledgable of the menu and explained in detail what each dish consisted of. The serving size for lunch was very generous and reasonable priced. We enjoyed our lunch and have plans to return for dinner one day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but skip the espresso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visited with a friend on a rainy Sunday evening. The food is very good and very reasonably priced. I had the sausage with eggplant and received two Italian sausages and a large slice of non breaded eggplant rich with mozzarella and Parmesan cheese covered in tomato sauce. This is usually served with pasta which I declined and had spinach sauteed with garlic in olive oil. My friend had what was listed on the menu as "chicken Romano", It was not the classic recipe but rather a chicken Marsala with cream added topped with mozzarella. My friend gave the dish 2 thumbs up!
The food was really good as was the gelato I had for desert. The one unfortunate item was the espresso which was more like Turkish coffee than the Italian standard. Despite that one unfortunate item, this is a very good spot for dinner. You won't be disappointed.....unless you love espresso!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Porto also viewed

 

Been to Il Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.