We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Porto

Il Porto
200 South Market Street, Frederick, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 320 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a wonderful Italian restaurant. Mr. Cruz and his staff do a splendid job with food and service. I highly recommend it.
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to Il Porto late Saturday evening, and though it was extremely busy, we were greeted and seated promptly. The table was presented nicely with a white tablecloth and napkin, and fresh flowers in a vase. Our waiter was very friendly and efficient, and our food was served timely. The cheese ravioli was delicious, and the marinara sauce was mildly seasoned. My husband ordered veal parmigiana which he thoroughly enjoyed. We ordered the fried zucchini as an appetizer, and while it was very good, it could benefit from some dipping sauce. The bread basket had a nice variety of ciabatta and crusty breads. Overall a great experience - we will continue to visit Il Porto for great Italian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A wonderful atmosphere for an Italian dinner! The food is delicious! I would go there over other Italian restaurants every time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went as part of a large, confused group--many people, many ages, many preferences. The wait staff waited, suggested, assisted and served us well. Food was good with many dishes and various price points. Delicious sangria - fresh fruit and good flavor (not soggy, old fruit). I recommend this restaurant if you find yourself on that end of Frederick, a little bit off the beaten path. (Note - I lived in Italy and grew up with a huge group of Italian Americans so I know Italian food. I'm not giving out four stars willy-nilly. Food was really 3.5 stars, because the lettuces could've been more interesting, and tomato slices more lovely, but the sauces are worthy of four stars. We were treated really well by everyone in the place and our large group was accomodated perfectly.)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Il Porto...is a nice little Italian restaurant with excpetional service. We enjoyed a Friday night dinner there with all the tables full which made for a loud dining experience. The ambiance of the old building means poor acoustics...but it was a small price to pay for dining in the historic building.

The menu is nothing out of the ordinary and the food is very good. We started with nice house salads and Italian bread dipped in olive oil. The bread was so-so...it could have been better, but my waistline was probably spared some expansion since I did not over do the bread!

The service is exceptional and the waitstaff is most accommodating. I had a special request since I am allergic to shrimp...and they were happy to substitute clams in the Fra Diablo. The sauce was tasty with a little kick...but not too spicy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Veal Piccata....yum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We love going to Il Porto. Our meals tonight were really good, as they have always been. I can't seem to stop ordering the veal piccata....this is the best I have had. But, I was tempted by one of the specials on the menu. Unable to decide, the waiter was gracious enough to let me order the veal and then substitute a smaller portion of the lobster ravioli for my side dish at a small additional charge. I got to have a taste of both of the entrees. The lobster ravioli was absolutely wonderful... creamy with great lobster flavor. My husband enjoys the traditional red sauce pastas there and tonight's meat ravioli made him very happy. The restaurant also just happens to have one of our favorite wines in their wine list. The atmosphere is very comfortable and relaxing with nice views out the windows. Happy Anniversary to us!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Porto also viewed

 

Been to Il Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.