We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy "little Britain" downtown Frederick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Anglais

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Anglais
238 Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 698-1223
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 319 restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: English
Description: A delightful English tea house in Historic Frederick. Excellent pastry, scones and perfectly brewed tea in English bone china.
Restaurant details
Description: A delightful English tea house in Historic Frederick. Excellent pastry, scones and perfectly brewed tea in English bone china.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cozy "little Britain" downtown Frederick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I was walking around downtown Frederick and decided to stop by at this café for a quick bite. Most of the places downtown don't offer the option to eat small bites. So I found this place to be perfect. The meal was simple but very well prepared. It is very small, though, and it doesn't feel like you are in a café, actually. But if you are shopping around in Frederick and want to stop to eat something quick, this is the perfect place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    10
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bit of Britain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went to Cafe Anglais today based on Trip Advisor reviews. Good choice. Had the tea with sandwiches, scones and small pastries. Great food at a reasonable price. Reminded us of our many teas in England. We sat inside although there is a lovely garden setting in the back (too humid for us today).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The best cup of tea in Maryland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you want a decent cup of tea, visit the Cafe Anglais in Market Street. It's a bit of a hybrid - from the outside it looks like a genteel tea room (chintzy curtains, portrait of the Queen) - but inside it tends to the transport caff genre. This is not a bad thing. It serves hearty 'comfort food' (described thus on the menu) and what must be the best cup of tea in Maryland - no messing about with lukewarm water and tea-bags on the side here! I had the best cup of tea I'd had in a fortnight [i.e the past two weeks] and an eccles cake that, while warmed up (the owner said it had been frozen) tasted like Eccles. Recommended for Commonwealth visitors needing a taste of home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic English Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Michael is wonderful at creating food just like mom makes. That is if mom was English and lived in Somerset. My husband is English and we go there whenever he is home sick. The pasties are fabulous and don't let the "spotted dick" scare you, this is one of those desserts you really should not pass up. He also sells some select authentic English grocery items if you need to stock up on some English tea or a sweet.

The restaurant is small a group of 20 could fill the place, but Michael does have a garden area for those warm days, if you want to enjoy the outdoors. Nestled in the middle of downtown Frederick, it is convenient to window shopping when you are done, or if you need a cup of tea after a good shopping trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's a small world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were looking for a place for a drink and snack after strolling around downtown Frederick on our first day in town, and came upon this small British tea shop. The other tea shop in town was very expensive. So we decided to go in for tea and scones and what an experience! By looking at the back of the menu, we discovered the owner of the shop used to own a similar place less than two miles from our home in Brookhaven, PA! He owned a small shop in Parkside, PA right down the road, but left there in 1998! We couldn't believe it. Anyway, to make a long story short, we did have tea and scones (I had it with jam and clotted cream...delicious! My husband had another type of pastry which was also yummy). We also had a nice conversation with the owner. It appears he makes everything from scratch as we saw him rolling out dough, and grinding meat for sausage. Yum. And we were able to purchase some Chocolate buttons to bring home. Don't miss this place if you are in Frederick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Anglais also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Anglais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.