We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic English Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Anglais

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Anglais
238 Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 698-1223
Update restaurant details
Ranked #47 of 313 restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: English
Description: A delightful English tea house in Historic Frederick. Excellent pastry, scones and perfectly brewed tea in English bone china.
Restaurant details
Description: A delightful English tea house in Historic Frederick. Excellent pastry, scones and perfectly brewed tea in English bone china.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic English Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Michael is wonderful at creating food just like mom makes. That is if mom was English and lived in Somerset. My husband is English and we go there whenever he is home sick. The pasties are fabulous and don't let the "spotted dick" scare you, this is one of those desserts you really should not pass up. He also sells some select authentic English grocery items if you need to stock up on some English tea or a sweet.

The restaurant is small a group of 20 could fill the place, but Michael does have a garden area for those warm days, if you want to enjoy the outdoors. Nestled in the middle of downtown Frederick, it is convenient to window shopping when you are done, or if you need a cup of tea after a good shopping trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    9
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's a small world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were looking for a place for a drink and snack after strolling around downtown Frederick on our first day in town, and came upon this small British tea shop. The other tea shop in town was very expensive. So we decided to go in for tea and scones and what an experience! By looking at the back of the menu, we discovered the owner of the shop used to own a similar place less than two miles from our home in Brookhaven, PA! He owned a small shop in Parkside, PA right down the road, but left there in 1998! We couldn't believe it. Anyway, to make a long story short, we did have tea and scones (I had it with jam and clotted cream...delicious! My husband had another type of pastry which was also yummy). We also had a nice conversation with the owner. It appears he makes everything from scratch as we saw him rolling out dough, and grinding meat for sausage. Yum. And we were able to purchase some Chocolate buttons to bring home. Don't miss this place if you are in Frederick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My favorite tea place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I bring all my houseguests and newcomers to the area to Cafe Anglais -- I'm always looking for an excuse to go there. It's not like the over-the-top "let's pretend we're at Downton Abbey" tea experience beloved of many Americans, it's a down-to-earth tearoom such as is found in towns all over England. This means there aren't 87 different teas to choose from and the food isn't all cut into half-inch squares, but you don't need to make reservations or put on your fancy hat, and you can get a really good meal. There's a lot of variety on the menu -- I especially like the beef and potato pie, the ploughman's lunch (with salad, cheeses, bread, etc.), the raisin bars, and of course scones with jam and cream (not all at once, though!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lancashire in Maryland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Cafe Anglais for a number of years now. We especially love going on days when we can enjoy sitting out in the garden and having orange barley water with our fish and chips and mushy peas. Thanks to Michael who is English and from Lancashire, Cafe Anglais gives no pretense; it is the real thing with all of its charm and authenticity, including china and teapots. Since we had a wonderful vacation in the Windemere area of England, going to Cafe Anglais always takes us back to that trip. A bit of a feel of Beatrix Potter. Other favorite dishes include any of the tarts, the crab salad, scones and biscuits.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect ethnic English restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great Britian in Frederick Md. Authentic english food in a small cafe. The Shepherds pie,
fish & chips, and mushy pie is fantastic. The owner Michael is very happy to accommodate
everyone. Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Anglais also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Anglais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.