We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite tea place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Anglais

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Anglais
238 Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 698-1223
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 321 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: English
Description: A delightful English tea house in Historic Frederick. Excellent pastry, scones and perfectly brewed tea in English bone china.
Restaurant details
Description: A delightful English tea house in Historic Frederick. Excellent pastry, scones and perfectly brewed tea in English bone china.
Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My favorite tea place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I bring all my houseguests and newcomers to the area to Cafe Anglais -- I'm always looking for an excuse to go there. It's not like the over-the-top "let's pretend we're at Downton Abbey" tea experience beloved of many Americans, it's a down-to-earth tearoom such as is found in towns all over England. This means there aren't 87 different teas to choose from and the food isn't all cut into half-inch squares, but you don't need to make reservations or put on your fancy hat, and you can get a really good meal. There's a lot of variety on the menu -- I especially like the beef and potato pie, the ploughman's lunch (with salad, cheeses, bread, etc.), the raisin bars, and of course scones with jam and cream (not all at once, though!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lancashire in Maryland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Cafe Anglais for a number of years now. We especially love going on days when we can enjoy sitting out in the garden and having orange barley water with our fish and chips and mushy peas. Thanks to Michael who is English and from Lancashire, Cafe Anglais gives no pretense; it is the real thing with all of its charm and authenticity, including china and teapots. Since we had a wonderful vacation in the Windemere area of England, going to Cafe Anglais always takes us back to that trip. A bit of a feel of Beatrix Potter. Other favorite dishes include any of the tarts, the crab salad, scones and biscuits.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect ethnic English restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great Britian in Frederick Md. Authentic english food in a small cafe. The Shepherds pie,
fish & chips, and mushy pie is fantastic. The owner Michael is very happy to accommodate
everyone. Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming English tea room in the heart of downtown Frederick, Md.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Cafe Anglais is an authentic English tea room located at 238 N. Market St., Frederick, Md. owned by Michael, a native of Lancashire, England. Whether you order just "Tea for One" or a full meal you won't be disappointed by any of the authentic English fare on the menu. You can also enjoy high tea (with 24 hours' advance notice to Michael). Whether you order the shepherd's pie or bangers & mash or fish & chips for lunch or if you just want tea and one of Michael's home-baked scones, pasties or other desserts, you'll never be disappointed. Don't be surprised if Michael stops by your table for a friendly welcoming chat. I visit family in Frederick several times a year and lunch at Cafe Anglais and a conversation with Michael are a "must" for every visit. Cafe Anglais and Michael get 10 gold stars in my rating book!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“French Cafe with English Tea in downtown Frederick, MD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a small cafe on Market Street. The tables are close. We enjoyed tea served by the English owner. We loved the food, tea and talking with the owner. Other items on the menu were bangers and mash, quiche and many French pastries. Loved everything!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Anglais also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Anglais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.