We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Go To Place For Mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicali Cantina

Mexicali Cantina
467 W Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21701-4805
301-663-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 316 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My Go To Place For Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love Mexicali Cantina and have been dining there for years. I have never had a bad meal there. All the food is fresh and all the staff are friendly and attentive and know the meaning of the words hospitality and customer service. One of the best things about Mexicali Cantina is that they do not charge you for refills on chips and salsa like many Mexican restaurants have begun to do. And, their chips and salsa are delicious! Some of my favorites at Mexicali Cantina are the tres colores, the tacos al carbon, the talapia filet fajitas, and the beef fajitas. The sangria is delicious and refreshing and occasionally, they have a peach mojito on the specials menu which is absolutely to die for! If you want delicious Mexican food, good drinks and friendly service, give Mexicali Cantina a try. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my favorites in Frederck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I'm from and grew up in California. When I moved to the east coast I just started making my own Mexican food since there were very few good options in Frederick. Mexicali Cantina, a very comfortable place with excellent food, has given me a break from my own cooking. One of my favorite places to go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great upscale Mexican/Latin American/Peruvian food. First time I've been in a Mex. restaurant that had white cloth tablecloths. Pricy compared to Mexican restaurants but well worth it. Great drinks. Very friendly, knowledgeable, attentive staff.
If you feel like Mexican or Latin American/Peruvian when in Frederick skip the others and go here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Food is fresh, atmosphere is festive, but not overdone. Wait staff are very professional and attentive. I like that you can dine in one of several separate rooms.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food was really good and the joint was jumpin'. The homemade chips and salsa were great. We will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Mexicali Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicali Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.