We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicali Cantina

Mexicali Cantina
467 W Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21701-4805
301-663-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 329 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food was really good and the joint was jumpin'. The homemade chips and salsa were great. We will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Super, low-key, great food. Mariachi music some Saturdays, plus private rooms (tiny ones...how fun!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So Friendly and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We love Mariachi in Rockville and in Frederick but Mexican Cantina, all of the same family, has the broadest menu. Last night we had a small birthday for our grandaughter. The food was outstanding and the little Tres Leche cake with a candle thrilled her. Everyone in this restaurant is so friendly and helpful, and that is the way of the Mariachi restaurants all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

great food and suprised the service was too as hardly anyone in there understands english. Same owners as Mariachi.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here after a full day's hiking in the chilly weather, after having found it on the TripAdvisor.com.

This is a fairly expansive space with nice decor and very clean. There were very few patrons at the time of our visit.

The salsa is very good, not very spicy at all. My wife had spinach, cheese, and seafood enchiladas and I had chicken enchilada and tamale and a chile relleno. All of the entrees were very good. They have a good range of entrees from the usual Mexican standards and combinations as well as more unusual dishes. For dessert, we shared a flan which is offered here unlike a good number of other Mexican places. They also offer sopapilla as well as a few other dessert dishes.

This restaurant is more expensive than most standard Mexican places. Most entrees range from $11 to $17. Service was prompt and attentive.

We would return to this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Mexicali Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicali Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.