We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicali Cantina

Mexicali Cantina
467 W Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21701-4805
301-663-3800
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #41 of 314 restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Super, low-key, great food. Mariachi music some Saturdays, plus private rooms (tiny ones...how fun!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    17
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So Friendly and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We love Mariachi in Rockville and in Frederick but Mexican Cantina, all of the same family, has the broadest menu. Last night we had a small birthday for our grandaughter. The food was outstanding and the little Tres Leche cake with a candle thrilled her. Everyone in this restaurant is so friendly and helpful, and that is the way of the Mariachi restaurants all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

great food and suprised the service was too as hardly anyone in there understands english. Same owners as Mariachi.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here after a full day's hiking in the chilly weather, after having found it on the TripAdvisor.com.

This is a fairly expansive space with nice decor and very clean. There were very few patrons at the time of our visit.

The salsa is very good, not very spicy at all. My wife had spinach, cheese, and seafood enchiladas and I had chicken enchilada and tamale and a chile relleno. All of the entrees were very good. They have a good range of entrees from the usual Mexican standards and combinations as well as more unusual dishes. For dessert, we shared a flan which is offered here unlike a good number of other Mexican places. They also offer sopapilla as well as a few other dessert dishes.

This restaurant is more expensive than most standard Mexican places. Most entrees range from $11 to $17. Service was prompt and attentive.

We would return to this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Needed a break from dinner at home, so decided to go midweek. As we entered, the sign pointed us to the bar side in order to be seated. As we entered no hostess nor other staff to show us to a table, so we stood there waiting. As the room was half empty, not sure where the host was but he finally showed up and sat us at a table.

Our waitress arrived quickly with the chips and salsa (very good) and took our order. Our food arrived quickly but we had to ask our server for our drinks as we were still waiting for them when our food arrived.

We both had ordered combination platters and found both entrees lacking flavor. For Mexican food the meals we had were bland and seemed like the spices had been left out. We hope this was just a bad night for the chef as in the past we have enjoyed the food at the restuarant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Cantina also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Mexicali Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicali Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Mexicali Cantina to your Saves list