We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicali Cantina

Mexicali Cantina
467 W Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21701-4805
301-663-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 322 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have gone to Mexicali Cantina frequently. Their food is consistenly good, and their chips and salsa are the greatest! Also their frozen margaritas and their sangria are both terrific. Service is always excellent.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodboro Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Also one of the better Mexian restaurants in Frederick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I believe that this restaurant, as well as Mariachi's and Cacique is owned by the same family. All three are great Mexican restaurants. And guess what! they are not all the same menus. Try the Carne Asada! Love that stuff. My Wife and I visit here at least once a month.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“mexican/Spanish type food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

What makes Mexacali Cantina different is that they have a very diverse menu. From typical Mexican type to Spanish flavors. They also have seafood dishes. I always get there shredded beef with any dish and it is as good as my wifes Pot Roast, Excellant. You can cut it with a fork.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This place has some of the best chips and salsa I have had. That alone makes it worth the trip. The service is very good and attentive. The restaurant is large and you feel like there is room between your table and other diners. The combination platters are great - although the fajitas we ordered were a bit overdone and a little dry. That will not stop my from trying them again. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Food is just bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Being raised in the Southwest, I know Mexican food. This place just does not know how to season this type of food. The salsa served with the chips is like diced tomatoes. I had to ask the server for jalapenos and hot sauce to flavor the flajitas. And the shrimp for the flajitas were sizzling at one end and the tail end was cold. Not room temp, not cool, cold.. Service was very good. Very attentive but not intrusive. Decor was appropriate and the restaurant was very clean.

I suppose that if you were raised on crabcakes this food might be hot, but its not close to the real stuff.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Mexicali Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicali Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.