We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mexican/Spanish type food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicali Cantina

Mexicali Cantina
467 W Patrick St, Frederick, MD 21701-4805
301-663-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 319 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“mexican/Spanish type food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

What makes Mexacali Cantina different is that they have a very diverse menu. From typical Mexican type to Spanish flavors. They also have seafood dishes. I always get there shredded beef with any dish and it is as good as my wifes Pot Roast, Excellant. You can cut it with a fork.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This place has some of the best chips and salsa I have had. That alone makes it worth the trip. The service is very good and attentive. The restaurant is large and you feel like there is room between your table and other diners. The combination platters are great - although the fajitas we ordered were a bit overdone and a little dry. That will not stop my from trying them again. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Food is just bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Being raised in the Southwest, I know Mexican food. This place just does not know how to season this type of food. The salsa served with the chips is like diced tomatoes. I had to ask the server for jalapenos and hot sauce to flavor the flajitas. And the shrimp for the flajitas were sizzling at one end and the tail end was cold. Not room temp, not cool, cold.. Service was very good. Very attentive but not intrusive. Decor was appropriate and the restaurant was very clean.

I suppose that if you were raised on crabcakes this food might be hot, but its not close to the real stuff.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great place. Good authentic food. I've had some different specials here too that were exceptionally tasty. Price is reasonable for the amount and quality of food but a bit too pricey to go there all the time for lunch(on my salary anyway!). Service is good. Great place for a business luncheon. They have some separate rooms that can be reserved for no additional charge. Wait staff are nice. Place is a bit dark inside but other than that, I always like going there. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
593 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“A Poor Excuse for a Bad Chef”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We used to come here for the half chicken and seasoned rice dinner until one experience with the food that was so bad we decided not to patronize the place any more. You have to wait upon coming in for someone to appear and to seat you, and then usually they are quick to take the order. The last time we went, the server disappeard, finally came back to take our order, and when my half chicken came, it was as if they had dumped the salt shaker all over it on purpose. I called the server back over and sent the dish back, explaining that I had had this several times before and it was never like this. She in turn called the manager over, I had to explain all over again, and he got defensive, telling me that "his brother was the chef and that he always made this dish that way." In other words, that I didn't know why I was complaining. He reluctantly took it away, and I asked him to credit the bill. I didn't want another selection from that "chef." So we got the bill and got out. I would have tried going back again but the manager's attitude that night was so poor, we just didn't bother. There are too many other, good restaurants in the area to put up with unnecessary insolence.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Cantina also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Mexicali Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicali Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.