We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the grimiest, most run down place I have ever stayed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6021 Francis Scott Key Drive, Frederick, MD 21704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
MI
1 review
“This is the grimiest, most run down place I have ever stayed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Traveling through town we needed a place to stay overnight. We booked a room with 2 queen beds. The door was battered and the deadbolt would not lock. There were no covers on the box springs. The tiles in the floor were coming loose. Cigarette burns all over the furniture. Toilet clogged. Safe broken. TV remote had only one button that would work (channel down). The bed spreads had holes from wear. Woken up by firecrackers and fireworks in the parking lot in the middle of the night. And to top it off, the room was almost $80 + TAX!!!! Having traveled all over Europe and the states, this one takes the cake! Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    15
    16
    21
See reviews for
20
18
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

Firstly, I am a fan of Econo Lodge; this Econo Lodge, Frederick, MD, however, was really bad. Abosulutely no modern amunitities; i.e., no wifi in room; no micro; no fridge; no iron or ironing board; and twice prostitues woke me up late looking for trick. Not only the aforementioned but this Econo Lodge was most expensive Econo Lodge I've stayed in.

I recommend Econo Lodge Nation Wide for great price for deal but this one, Frederick, MD, should be avoided unless you're looking for trailer trash and want to pay double for it.

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

My friends and I just needed a place to stay overnight while traveling through town. We did not go into the hotel expecting 4 star quality but we did at least expect cleanliness. We booked a double bed smoking room. The outside of the hotel was very run down looking and could definitely use a refresh. Check in was quick and easy and the check in area is very nice and clean. They gave us room # 237. Upon pulling up to the room we started having doubts, but we were trying to keep an open mind. When we opened the door to our room it had a horrible smell. It was a smoke smell mixed with some other really bad smell. The lights in our room were all out except for the one in the bathroom vanity area. The nightstand and desk had burn marks everywhere. We decided we could not take the smell and immediately went back down to ask for a new room. The guy at the desk was very nice and accommodated us right away. At this point we asked for a non-smoking room that had working lights. He then gave us keys to room #137. Upon opening the door it also had that same smell but not as strong. We immediately turned on the air conditioner to try and at least circulate the air. The lights did all work and the desks were in a little better shape. There are not any clocks in the rooms so you may want to bring your own if you really need one. The beds were horrible, the mattresses were only about 2 inches thick and that’s all. The air kicks on and off when ever it feels like it. We did not want to take showers in the morning because the bath tub looked very dirty and we didn’t want to take any chances. I would give this hotel about 1/2 a star if that. We went out shopping and to dinner and we dreaded coming back to the room even to sleep. The hotel does have continental breakfast but we didn’t even attempt to try it. The hotel is also located right off of I 70 so all night long we heard tractor trailers and it was really hard to sleep. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again and I probably never will give Econo lodge another try based upon this experience. Our room cost $78 with taxes, do yourself a favor and save your money.

  • Disliked — Everything!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Conch Republic
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Booked a stay through EconoLodge website at Frederick, MD property. Room assigned was filthy - smelled of cat urine (seemingly coming from crawl space below room). Dirt in corner and fecal matter on shelf in bathroom area. BUT that was not the worst. In showering we saw dark black coming from our feet - so we checked. A white towel placed on the carpeting in the room came up with deep black powdery marks - telltale for suspected Black Mold (considered by FEMA and most states to be a serious health hazard). We called the front desk and were offered no relief. Stayed the night and got out fast in the morning (one can of Lysol and a room deodorizing candle later). We told the front desk about the mold problem but no commitment to address the problem was made. EconoLodge corporate basically begged off any responsibility. Won't stay at any Choice Hotel Group property until they are willing to take some action.

Now, lest you think I am a stickler - I have stayed in one star and less all over the world . . . have dealt with noise, pubic hairs on the sheets, mysterious odors, and worse . . . and this was the worst room I have ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

I was far from impressed by this place, but it was the cheapest place in the area and did its job for the night I was there.

The bed and chair in the room were well used, and the room itself could've used some carpentry work to spruce it up.

It didn't do a thorough check because I was afraid of what I might find, but the sheets, pillows, and towels seemed to be OK. The blanket had a cigarette burn in it (it was a nonsmoking room).

It's located very close to the interstate exit and wasn't too hard to find. There are also many stores close by.

Don't expect much from the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

First the good news - reasonable price, lots of TV channels available (65 channels), room was clean, room was quiet
Now time to hear the rest of the story -
This motel is hard to find (their website says behind the Exxon station . . . well the station is now all boarded up and closed . . maybe they should update their instructions)
Not too impressive from the outside (well worn inside and out)
Internet in the lobby only - no wifi

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Hard to find
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

fairly clean-mold on bathroom wood trim, donut for breakfast,
wireless internet access, good price.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — had difficulty finding property at night, mold in bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 6021 Francis Scott Key Drive, Frederick, MD 21704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Frederick
Frederick Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Frederick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.