We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6021 Francis Scott Key Drive, Frederick, MD 21704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Friendly and Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend while visiting family. The place was really nice and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfast. I will def stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    15
    16
    21
See reviews for
20
18
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having booked and paid for this room on-line over dinner, I felt compelled to stay and that may have been a mistake. The positive reviews of this property must have lucked out and gotten the one they keep for the website photos. I seldom go to a hotel office to demand a change of room, but I did here. The first was filled with stained furniture and the door lock was broken with the security chain barely hanging on by one screw. The complete lack of other cars in the lot should have been a tip-off, too, and the whole area feels like an industrial park. I felt insecure, unclean, and ripped-off. The irony is, I had been on the road for several hours and decided to get a room for the night to be on the safe side!

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Needing a quick place to stay after hours of driving, my spouse had stayed here years ago and so we stopped here for the night. Had a place for the tractor trailer and it was also pet friendly with a normal $10 fee. However, in the first half hour in the room, I successfully killed one roach and 4 water bugs crawling on the curtains and ceiling. The only good thing I can say about this place is the parking for the rig, pet friendly and cheap. Ya get what you pay for tho' - the rooms are definitely in need of some serious maintanence - ceilings peeling, curtains thumb-tacked to the wall and falling off the top curtain rod, floors are filthy, lighting is terrible (probably so you won't see how crappy the rooms are), the TV needs to be replaced as the shows all had a green tinge, burn holes on the tub (in a no smoking room no less), the shower head is disgusting and you can see where the walls or doors have been patch-work repaired. Find somewhere else - this is not worth it.

Room Tip: If you stay here, bring a fly swatter and bug spray - I'm off to kill a few more right now!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because it had the cheapest rate around. I wasn't expecting much for 69 a night. I actually expected it to be one of those places that you can't even take your shoes off because its so nasty... I was wrong. The room was very clean. We even had a smoking room and it didn't smell a bit like smoke. A wonderful place. A+++++

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We picked this based on some positive reviews, and for the first time I'm stumped as to why tripadvisor users find this a place to recommend. The walls had peeling wall-paper, there was mold in the corners, the bathroom door didn't close right, and in general the entire room could use some TLC. When we arrived, very late after an exhausting drive, we were given a room next to some folks who were out in front of their room partying and smoking. Because we desperately needed sleep, we had to return to get another room in another section of the hotel. The breakfast was very basic: cheap little donuts and some cereal.

It isn't often that we choose a bare bones budget motel...usually when we just need a few hours sleep and a shower...and usually tripadvisor steers us to good, clean and quiet spots. However, this time we were sorely disappointed. Not that the stay was horrible, just a bit unsavory.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

easy to get to right off rt 70 major highway . clean room , friendly staff. newly renovated. have used them in the past ... very comfortable. Very accomidating for early or late arrival. very affordable. Tv was alittle old and rermote needed new batteries... but was an easy fix...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmyra va
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

very clean hotel room, tv is a little old but its ok, great customer service beds are comfortable

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 6021 Francis Scott Key Drive, Frederick, MD 21704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Frederick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Frederick
Frederick Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Frederick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.