We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volt

Volt
228 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701
+1 301-696-8658
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Volt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 320 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Street
Description: VOLT offers guests a menu of modern American cuisine. The focus of our cuisine is based on classic flavor combinations, creating sophisticated dishes that emphasize purity and seasonal flavors that are based on fundamental and innovative cooking techniques. VOLT's relationship with local artisan farmers ensures availability of products to fulfill the philosophy behind the menu, in a refined, historic venue where classic meets modern. By design, the restaurant follows along the original footprint of the mansions first floor parlors. Both the 38 seat main dining room and the bar/lounge open off the foyer. The original mosaic tile in the foyer was the inspiration behind the warm monochromatic color palette that adorns the finishes in VOLT. Private dining can be hosted in the conservatory offering views of the expansive courtyard. The 700 square foot kitchen afforded space to include up to 20 guests.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to Volt a couple years ago, and we remembered it being absolutely fantastic, with some really creative and fun dishes. This year, we went with friends and family for a birthday celebration, and it was just as good as we remembered. The food,as predicted, was exceptional. We had the seven-course tasting menu with wine pairings. One thing we really liked was the option of meat or vegetarian tasting menus. Additionally, we had two kids in the group, and the server, Michael, asked the kitchen to put together a couple age-appropriate dishes so they could take part as well. TJ, the sommelier, was great - he immediately grasped the personality of our crowd, and despite being serious about the wine, really made it a fun night. Honestly, the best part of the service was our second server, Chip, who in all seriousness was the life of the party. Between the fantastic service, and the always great food, we had a night that was everything we could have hoped for. Thanks again to the staff at Volt. We'll be back soon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    66
    54
    23
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great, friendly, service and great food. After selecting the Tasting Menu I can definitely say I couldn't eat more. Each dish was an experiment and an experience. Can I say I absolutely loved everything.....no.......but overall the quality was excellent and the food good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“top notch service, very nice food for not a very high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went in with a family for brunch on a Saturday. Overall a positive experience, with a couple of minor irritants.
Bad news first:
For one, I am all for a showbiz element of the eating out experience, but in our case this went a little too far. Just because one member of the party ordered a different number of courses, the rest of us had to endure a totally unnecessary and 100% useless, ceremonial changes of empty dishes.
Secondly, yes, this appears to be one of the most expensive restaurants in Frederick. While the value for money would be good by Washington close-in suburbs' standards, I would say that for its location the price-value ratio is not that great; although still quite solid.

The good news:
The service and genuine friendliness is beyond reproach.
While some items on the menu don't quite hold up (e.g. Fluke "sushi") - others (e.g. Lamb dish) are totally melting in your mouth.
Most cocktails were creative and combined quite refreshing mixes of ingredients. "Sazerac" was quite nice, for instance.
At least a couple of the deserts we had were above average (e.g. Chocolate).

Overall - highly recommended, if you don't have hyped expectations, and don't expect a cheap meal. Also - I would say that 3-course meal was quite satisfying, so consider that when thinking about their 5-course option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A VOTE FOR VOLT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found the "chefs table" to be inviting and comfortable. The wait staff were personable and informative. We found the food to be exciting and flavorful. Each tasting brought new experiences. Bryan V has gem here in old town Fredrick. Too bad it is an hour and half away for us. We will return!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in Frederick, Md.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service, ambiance, and fabulous food in Frederick, Maryland. Chef Voltaggion show why he was a fan favorite in season six of Top Chef. Locally sourced food, molecular construction, incredible flavors and presentation served by extraordinary staff. Incredible wine list with an attentive and knowledgable Sommelier. Not inexpensive but worth every cent! Brunch is a bargain.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volt also viewed

 

Been to Volt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.