We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volt

Volt
228 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701
301-696-8658
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 314 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Street
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great, friendly, service and great food. After selecting the Tasting Menu I can definitely say I couldn't eat more. Each dish was an experiment and an experience. Can I say I absolutely loved everything.....no.......but overall the quality was excellent and the food good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    212
    54
    46
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“top notch service, very nice food for not a very high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went in with a family for brunch on a Saturday. Overall a positive experience, with a couple of minor irritants.
Bad news first:
For one, I am all for a showbiz element of the eating out experience, but in our case this went a little too far. Just because one member of the party ordered a different number of courses, the rest of us had to endure a totally unnecessary and 100% useless, ceremonial changes of empty dishes.
Secondly, yes, this appears to be one of the most expensive restaurants in Frederick. While the value for money would be good by Washington close-in suburbs' standards, I would say that for its location the price-value ratio is not that great; although still quite solid.

The good news:
The service and genuine friendliness is beyond reproach.
While some items on the menu don't quite hold up (e.g. Fluke "sushi") - others (e.g. Lamb dish) are totally melting in your mouth.
Most cocktails were creative and combined quite refreshing mixes of ingredients. "Sazerac" was quite nice, for instance.
At least a couple of the deserts we had were above average (e.g. Chocolate).

Overall - highly recommended, if you don't have hyped expectations, and don't expect a cheap meal. Also - I would say that 3-course meal was quite satisfying, so consider that when thinking about their 5-course option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A VOTE FOR VOLT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found the "chefs table" to be inviting and comfortable. The wait staff were personable and informative. We found the food to be exciting and flavorful. Each tasting brought new experiences. Bryan V has gem here in old town Fredrick. Too bad it is an hour and half away for us. We will return!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in Frederick, Md.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service, ambiance, and fabulous food in Frederick, Maryland. Chef Voltaggion show why he was a fan favorite in season six of Top Chef. Locally sourced food, molecular construction, incredible flavors and presentation served by extraordinary staff. Incredible wine list with an attentive and knowledgable Sommelier. Not inexpensive but worth every cent! Brunch is a bargain.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“"where's the food?"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

look... I’m not young or hip, and as you can see, I’m in the minority on volt. I thought it was pretentious, from the menu to the service.

We went for brunch on a saturday afternoon after a 50 minute drive from northern Virginia. I had difficulty trying to figure out the menu, why use all those convoluted phrases? I forgot to get a menu so I can repeat the selections here and when I tried on line tonight, the menu page was not available. The food was good… but only god knows what I ate for an appetizer, a mishmash of different ingredients but in tiny portions. I asked the waiter about the omelet or sliced lamb for the main course. He said go with the lamb if I was hungry . I did. Maybe four mouthfuls, just maybe that much. I also had the cheese plate for dessert, two wafer thin tiny wedges, no bigger than a slice of kraft yellow cheese. Anyway, thanks for the wonderful brioche and cheddar biscuits, which luckily were brought around on at least three occasions. On the way out, they gave each of us a small nicely wrapped coffee cake. Yummy, I ate it on the way home.

At $250 (including tax and tip) for four adults with one drink and two glasses of wine, certainly not a bargain. So my advice is to come to jersey and eat well with large portions. My daughter and son-in-law love this place but sorry volt, you are not my cup of tea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volt also viewed

 

Been to Volt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.