We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Birthday Brunch”
Review of Volt

228 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701
301-696-8658
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 314 restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Street
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    212
    54
    45
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Volt
See the most recent reviews
Montgomery County , Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING Birthday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Mimosa's and bacon maple glazed doughnuts oh my oh my
It's a prefix deal here a little pricey but totally worth it for a special occasionand is a fun way to try new things !
I started with the ravioli with goat’s cheese, in a broth with mushrooms and some kind of flavored foam (cause who doesn’t love a foam right?!?)
Followed by an incredible caramelized onion and mushroom omelet served with exquisite home fries. Since there was a few of us eating we also ordered sides of the Belgian waffle with blueberries and crème fraîche as well as an order of maple glazed bacon doughnuts (YUM).
We each got a different dessert and while not big, I can promise you will have fun eating any of them! The innovative way this restaurant approaches your meal from the moment you walk in the door, to the AMPLE bread service with choices like bourbon pecan rolls or your choice of scone citrus or bacon and sage. All around a great experience and my favorite part you will get a small box of baked goods to take with you when you leave. I’ve been a few times now and gotten cookies and coffee cakes both an excellent reminder of a wonderful meal the next day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very Good EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The experience is hard to compare. The food might leave you hungry. When the food is placed on the table it is like a celebrity has arrived and the photo flashes explode. The service is incredible. Never before have I been walked to the bathroom when I asked where it was let alone had the door opened for me. Just have a little something to eat before you go because you only get a pretty little something there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience, Food, & Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A bunch of us recently dined at Volt and I have to say that we all enjoyed it (and we're fairly finicky about our food). The drive wasn't bad, but some of the initial parts of Frederick were a bit seedy ... the street where Volt is charming, though (there is also parking right next to Volt).

Service was exceptional and well-coordinated. We were a high maintenance table with a few folks who had allergies and they accommodated everyone without reserve. There was one course that none of us enjoyed (the sweetbreads ... not because we don't care for sweetbreads, but none of us are fans of fried fried food and that's about all you tasted with that particular dish - the only real miss of the evening). When our waiter noticed that none of us finished this dish, he asked what he could do to compensate for it and we said nothing, the dish just wasn't to our liking. For the following course, he brought us a wine pairing on-the-house which was thoughtful and we all enjoyed it. Some of us opted for the wine pairing throughout the meal and we agreed that the pairings were very well executed with some notable standouts - pork belly/burgundy and fois gras/white burgundy (I think) were excellent. Get the pairing and definitely get those two dishes. Not sure why all the negative comments on desserts, but the one that we had (chocolate, peanut something) was quite good.

All-in-all, a great dining experience ... we're definitely looking forward to returning. If paying a decent amount for dinner offends you, then you'd probably want to go to one of the other nice restaurants in Frederick that may not be as expensive. However, how much you spend is on par with what you'd spend at any similar restaurant in DC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlet, ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Frederick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food is an experience, don't overthink it - just enjoy the creativity of the chefs. The scallop was a standout and the warm bread basket was the best service touch of the night. We will be back, Ciara was wonderful and made us feel very welcome!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we had lunch at volt recently (thanks to the trip advisor rating) and it was wonderful. regrettably, we were travelling so unable to relax and enjoy this place as one should. it was packed. we had no reservation and were welcomed at the bar. service, food, decor are all top notch. it's pricey as well as different so be prepared for the energy at volt!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volt also viewed

 

Been to Volt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.