We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolute delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volt

Volt
228 North Market Street, Frederick, MD 21701
+1 301-696-8658
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Volt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 364 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Street
Description: VOLT offers guests a menu of modern American cuisine. The focus of our cuisine is based on classic flavor combinations, creating sophisticated dishes that emphasize purity and seasonal flavors that are based on fundamental and innovative cooking techniques. VOLT's relationship with local artisan farmers ensures availability of products to fulfill the philosophy behind the menu, in a refined, historic venue where classic meets modern. By design, the restaurant follows along the original footprint of the mansions first floor parlors. Both the 38 seat main dining room and the bar/lounge open off the foyer. The original mosaic tile in the foyer was the inspiration behind the warm monochromatic color palette that adorns the finishes in VOLT. Private dining can be hosted in the conservatory offering views of the expansive courtyard. The 700 square foot kitchen afforded space to include up to 20 guests.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“an absolute delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

And well worth the drive from Annapolis! My visit was the perfect time to plan a our Girls' Day Away, and VOLT provided the best prix fixe brunch! Every course was like seeing food photos, and my BF, CIA grad, didn't miss taking the opportunity to post our plates on FB. The 'art' disappeared as we began to bite into each and every course offered. Take a look at their menus, and make your reservation soon! Great service by a well trained, and most professional staff.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank savvychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant...lives up to the reputation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were not a bit disappointed in a 2nd visit to this wonderful spot! The food is delicious and
inventive...service fine and atmosphere comfortable> Bryan Voltaggio's creative hand is evident
throughout...
highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“totally disappointing meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

When you walk into Volt you are amazed at how lovely the restaurant is decorated. The style is simply elegant. We started with a bottle of wine in the bar-served to us by TJ the professional and very friendly sommelier. It was fantastic. When our guests arrived we were all seated at the table and served by a totally lackluster server. We ordered our meals and another fantastic bottle of wine. The wine was delish but the food came out lukewarm at best. For the high prices that they charge the food was fine, nothing fantastic for sure. The portion size is ridiculous. Nothing that I ordered stood out in my mind as memorable and for the price that they charge and smugness of the server I would have expected something much better. Kudos to TJ for the wine and the hospitality! The Tasting Room up the street is far superior!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, md
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Volt for a special event.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

be it a special birthday, anniversary or popping the question to your love one. Volt will make the event one they will remember. we celebrated our twenty fifth anniversary at Volt. the knowledgeable server explained all our choices, offered selections for wine and made the event one my wife and i will remember. we plan on taking our daughter there for her twenty first birthday and graduation form college. only shortcoming was the wine pouring could have been larger. but the food, presentation were excellent. thank you, Volt

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharkytoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Special Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited Volt for our anniversary and it was a wonderful experience. The waiters were so attentive and the food was unforgettable. You can tell they really put a lot of thought and effort into each dish.

We did the four course prix fixe menu and we were stuffed by the end of the meal. Don’t expect huge portions...but they serve bread and a course before your four courses even get started! They also give you a dish of mini desserts after the dessert course. At the end of the meal, they send you home with a mini cinnamon crumb cake to enjoy the next day for breakfast. They really think of everything.

The only downside was that we were seated very close to another table of two, which can be kind of distracting at times if they are talking loud.

Overall, this is a beautiful restaurant with amazing food. Hope to be back soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volt also viewed

 

Been to Volt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing