We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Hill House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hill House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
12 West Third Street, P.O. Box 4124, Frederick, MD 21705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending the weekend at this excellent B&B. the owners provide excellent service, tasty breakfast, and cozy rooms.
A fabulous place to stay in the trendy town of Frederick........near Washington, D.C. and Baltimore.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'd like to just cut-and-paste the review by HappyDCCouple "Meh. At least it's close to Volt." Their review is spot-on and my partner and I had the exact same comments, concerns and experiences from interactions with Damian, who seemed inconvenienced by our presence, her husband whom was very pleasant, to the framed family photos in our room. My partner made it to breakfast and was underwhelmed. As in all the other reviews, french toast was served and was "eh." I did not because, as informed by Damian, "breakfast is at 8:30." Period. and that was too early for me. I've stayed at several B&B's in the past and in my experience the breakfast service had a time-frame; "breakfast is served between 8:00 AM and 10:00 AM", or something like that. No flexibility at Hill House and certainly no welcoming feeling. We weren't thanked for being there and won't be going back. Should we visit Volt again, or any other great place in Frederick, we'll certainly stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Hill House earlier this year as we had reservations at Volt and didn't want to drive back to Washington, D.C. (where we live) afterward. Very quaint-looking and well-kept from the outside, but that's about where it ended for us.

The innkeeper, Damian, coldly greeted us once we got there. It was almost uncomfortable, actually. If I remember correctly, one of the first things she said to us was, "This is my home and I don't want you walking around down here with your shoes on." Uhm, okay?

The inn is overcrowded with knick-knacks...some of them extremely bizarre too. Accommodations were fine (we stayed in the Victorian), but nothing spectacular, and the room and bathroom were clean...though oddly decorated. One thing we found a bit strange was that there were framed photos of random people (perhaps the innkeeper's family?) in our room.

The best part of this B&B is that it is in crawling distance of Volt; however, I'm sure there are other B&Bs with better front-of-the-house service. Surprisingly, Damian's husband was quite personable and should probably be the one interacting with guests.

Breakfast was fine, but awkward as the only other guests staying there were Damian's friends. We were completely ignored. The French toast was good, but not incredible. I think the orange juice may have been Tang or something similar. Forgettable breakfast compared to other's we've had at different B&Bs.

We left there feeling "meh". Even though we can get past the odd decorating and zillion knick-knacks everywhere, Damian's sour demeanor will keep us from returning or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were touring the Antietam Battlefield for 2 days . Staying in Frederick was a good location. We really enjoyed our stay at Hill House. It is the most attractive B&B we've ever stayed. We had the Victorian Room with its huge bath. Damain is a pleasant hostess and her French Toast is delicious. The location was very convenient for restaurants, bars and stores.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Best place to stay if you are going to Volt, as it is around the corner. Convenient walking to downtown Frederick shops and restaurants. We stayed on the top floor suite, which was quiet, comfortable, charming. The breakfast was good and not overwhelming like some B&Bs. Good for a one- or two-night stay.

One key gives access to all the rooms, so trust your fellow travelers. Parking is on the street; learn the parking rules. Currently the photo associated with the B&B on TripAdvisor is wrong. I added the correct one; hopefully it will be accepted and added. Also Google maps is currently off by a quarter block or so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very comfortable B & B with period furnishings, in the heart of old downtown, graciously hosted by Damian the lady of the house. The bathroom was spacious and well lit. Excellent breakfast. The bed was one of those very cushy, tall, old time canopy beds.
Note that Hill House is within crawling distance of Volt...

Room Tip: Get one of the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We headed up to Frederick for a one-night respite from packing to move from VA to NC. We didn't want to spend a lot of money so we reserved the Chesapeake Room at Hill House both for price and location and we pretty much got what we paid for. The location is great--Frederick is a lovely and very walkable town and we parked once at the B&B, found a walking tour, and took off. The Chesapeake Room (one of four in this three-level row house) was small but adequate for a couple (though there were no chairs for sitting/reading). We did have access to a 2nd story gallery which would probably have been quite pleasant on a cool day. (We were there mid-summer and the temps were hovering around 95-100 degrees--not conducive for lounging outside.) Breakfast the next morning was a disappointment--French toast, 2 slices of dry bacon, a small dish of fresh fruit, instant orange juice (Tang), and coffee--nothing special. The house itself has some outstanding elements—a parquet floor in the dining room, a lovely parlor—but the parlor was off limits to guests. All in all, not quite what we were expecting but certainly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#5 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#10 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Horse  Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 West Third Street, P.O. Box 4124, Frederick, MD 21705
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Frederick
Hill House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.