We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh. At least it's close to Volt.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Hill House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill House Bed and Breakfast
12 West Third Street, P.O. Box 4124, Frederick, MD 21705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meh. At least it's close to Volt.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Hill House earlier this year as we had reservations at Volt and didn't want to drive back to Washington, D.C. (where we live) afterward. Very quaint-looking and well-kept from the outside, but that's about where it ended for us.

The innkeeper, Damian, coldly greeted us once we got there. It was almost uncomfortable, actually. If I remember correctly, one of the first things she said to us was, "This is my home and I don't want you walking around down here with your shoes on." Uhm, okay?

The inn is overcrowded with knick-knacks...some of them extremely bizarre too. Accommodations were fine (we stayed in the Victorian), but nothing spectacular, and the room and bathroom were clean...though oddly decorated. One thing we found a bit strange was that there were framed photos of random people (perhaps the innkeeper's family?) in our room.

The best part of this B&B is that it is in crawling distance of Volt; however, I'm sure there are other B&Bs with better front-of-the-house service. Surprisingly, Damian's husband was quite personable and should probably be the one interacting with guests.

Breakfast was fine, but awkward as the only other guests staying there were Damian's friends. We were completely ignored. The French toast was good, but not incredible. I think the orange juice may have been Tang or something similar. Forgettable breakfast compared to other's we've had at different B&Bs.

We left there feeling "meh". Even though we can get past the odd decorating and zillion knick-knacks everywhere, Damian's sour demeanor will keep us from returning or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were touring the Antietam Battlefield for 2 days . Staying in Frederick was a good location. We really enjoyed our stay at Hill House. It is the most attractive B&B we've ever stayed. We had the Victorian Room with its huge bath. Damain is a pleasant hostess and her French Toast is delicious. The location was very convenient for restaurants, bars and stores.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Best place to stay if you are going to Volt, as it is around the corner. Convenient walking to downtown Frederick shops and restaurants. We stayed on the top floor suite, which was quiet, comfortable, charming. The breakfast was good and not overwhelming like some B&Bs. Good for a one- or two-night stay.

One key gives access to all the rooms, so trust your fellow travelers. Parking is on the street; learn the parking rules. Currently the photo associated with the B&B on TripAdvisor is wrong. I added the correct one; hopefully it will be accepted and added. Also Google maps is currently off by a quarter block or so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very comfortable B & B with period furnishings, in the heart of old downtown, graciously hosted by Damian the lady of the house. The bathroom was spacious and well lit. Excellent breakfast. The bed was one of those very cushy, tall, old time canopy beds.
Note that Hill House is within crawling distance of Volt...

Room Tip: Get one of the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We headed up to Frederick for a one-night respite from packing to move from VA to NC. We didn't want to spend a lot of money so we reserved the Chesapeake Room at Hill House both for price and location and we pretty much got what we paid for. The location is great--Frederick is a lovely and very walkable town and we parked once at the B&B, found a walking tour, and took off. The Chesapeake Room (one of four in this three-level row house) was small but adequate for a couple (though there were no chairs for sitting/reading). We did have access to a 2nd story gallery which would probably have been quite pleasant on a cool day. (We were there mid-summer and the temps were hovering around 95-100 degrees--not conducive for lounging outside.) Breakfast the next morning was a disappointment--French toast, 2 slices of dry bacon, a small dish of fresh fruit, instant orange juice (Tang), and coffee--nothing special. The house itself has some outstanding elements—a parquet floor in the dining room, a lovely parlor—but the parlor was off limits to guests. All in all, not quite what we were expecting but certainly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had trouble finding this location based on the photo of a house on a hill with a porch. In fact, it is a beige brick street level townhouse on the sidewalk with parking meters out front. The owner insisted on being paid with a check both for the deposit and for the balance of the bill~ Even though her ad says she accepts credit cards. When we arrived, before 6pm, there was no one home. There was a note taped to the inside door with our bill enclosed and directions where to locate the key. (The owner stated she was at Volt's having cocktails with friends.) We had no access to the inn per se as the door was locked since no one was home~ so we found our room up the stairs behind the other locked door. The antiques were very nice and it appeared clean, until my neck pillow rolled under the bed. It was covered with dirt and dust when I fished to out. ~ Not a good sign. We left for dinner reservations at Volt's but there was no lock to your room from the outside so it was strange to just leave our belongings in an empty strange house with several other bedrooms. It was not the B&B experience we have enjoyed in our past travels. It served the purpose of being within walking distance to Volt's.

Room Tip: This is a townhouse so the room are on the small side. Ours had acess to a side porch which made it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

One thing for certain, you will not be disappointed by the location. In the heart of the lovely city of Frederick. The inn is small and the rooms are not to be described as spacious but they are adequate. My girlfriend and I were traveling with another couple and we all enjoyed the stay and found our rooms clean and comfortable. We had read many reviews that included mention of the innkeeper, Damian. Most of those reviews were unfavorable so we were pleasantly surprised to find her to be welcoming and helpful. Next time in Frederick, we'll be back to the Hill House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 West Third Street, P.O. Box 4124, Frederick, MD 21705
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Frederick
Hill House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hill House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list