We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get back to basics” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rita's Ice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rita's Ice
538 West South Street, Frederick, MD
301-694-8834
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 339 Restaurants in Frederick
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Get back to basics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This Rita's never has a "normal" flavor like vanilla, chocolate, lemon...always something funky. I have never experienced this at any other Rita's. I have even mentioned it when I've gone to other Rita's and they say they always have the staple of vanilla and chocolate. Come on...Baskin Robbins has 32 flavors and one is always vanilla. I often go here, look at the selection and leave ticked without buying anything.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Watermelon Gelati-delicioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Perfect treat for a hot (100 degree) summer night: watermelon ice with vanilla custard. Can't go wrong with rita's.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice Ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We greatly enjoyed Rita's custard and ice, and highly recommend it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cold and Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husbad likes the Alex Lemon my daughter and I like the Mango Gelata, always good and smooth tasting.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good Italian Ice, but you have to look for it back off the road as it's a small location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Good Italian Ice, but you have to look for it back off the road as it's a small location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rita's Ice also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Rita's Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rita's Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.