We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek diner! Could be NJ!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Diner

Mountain View Diner
1300 West Patrick St., Frederick, MD 21703
301-696-1300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 320 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Greek, Sandwiches
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Portales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Greek diner! Could be NJ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ahh big menu Greek diners are my oases in the sea of corporate eateries. This place is as nice as any. A glass pie case to greet you on the way in and happy smiling staff that keep your cup full of joe. I had a nice fresh egg salad on lightly toasted rye with a little cup of slaw joy and pickle on the side. The egg salad was chunky and gently made with just enough mayo and mixing. It was not some pale yellow homogenized paste you fear to get, thank goodness. I followed this with chocolate cream pie. The crust was flakey good and the cream was a light chocolate topped by a mile of whipped cream. Pretty darn good. So far the diner scene in this town is top notch. As for the title it's all good, a high compliment as those fortunate enough to know will know.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    6
    17
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NO BUFFET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Previous diner said he had the buffet at Mountain View Diner , Frederick, MD. Obviously , he ate somewhere else, because Mountain View Diner in Frederick, MD & Charles Town, WV do not and never have had buffets.The food is great tasting and everything is made from scratch including desserts. They will take large party reservations depending on timing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Food is fair to average. Best item on menu is the chili. Nice selection of pies. Decor is like an old 50s type diner. Juke boxes on each table are inoperable, but a nice touch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Now This is a Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoy eating breakfasts at diners............and this was a good stop!

All four of our party was hungry for pancakes and Mountainview satisfied our cravings.

We all ordered short stacks and were so happy that we did, as the portions were large. Two of us indulged in the pecan pancakes which were loaded with pecan halves.........wonderful!!! Another member of our party had the blueberry pancakes and they again were filled with lots of fresh blueberries. My purist spouse ordered the buttermilk pancakes. He was very happy with his choice.

Our server was great! She arrived at our table just as we sat down to pour coffee and she never disappeared the entire time that we were here. She offered to refill our coffee cups at least three times...........how often do you encounter that?

I must mention the 50's vibe of this restaurant........a plus to add to the great breakfast & attentive server.

I can't imagine being disappointed here.........too many good things going on!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This '50's themed diner offers the usual suspects for breakfast. I chose a short stack of blueberry pancakes (2 big ones); my husband and 2 friends had the pecan pancakes. Lots of fresh blueberries mixed into the batter in mine, plenty of whole pecan halves in theirs. Our waitress was excellent - very bubbly and checked on us frequently with coffee pot in hand.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mountain View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.