We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best asian food in frederick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Corner

Lucky Corner
700 N Market St., Frederick, MD
(301) 624-1005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 319 restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“best asian food in frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

doesn't look like much, but this is a cozy restaurant with friendly service and top-notch food.
I have tried about 6 dishes and all are very good. The large soups are pretty standard at Vietnamese places, but these are particularly good. The hot pots are also great. The Hot and Sour soup is a very very good version.
One word of warning - there are two chefs and they have different ideas on "medium-hot" so be sure to describe your wishes to your waiter.
Lunch is the same as dinner except the prices are lower.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    50
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great restaurant with an unusual location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly great restaurant with an unusual location. On the north end of market Street (where there isn't much). Excellent food, excellent service, very nice decor. A few parking spaces but mostly street parking. Always busy during lunch. Good carry out too

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
“Best Asian food in Frederick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Finally tried Lucky Corner for lunch, based on TripAdvisor reviews -it was very good food! I like Sumittra and I like a good sushi but this offers something very distinctive and authentic that tops all others. We started with duck potstickers (okay) and crispy spring rolls (very good - not greasy). I tried a small bowl of the Tom Yum soup (with chicken and mushrooms) - excellent. My wife had the Mango chicken (excellent - not too sweet, delicious) and I had the special of the day - a nice spicy curried pumpkin with beef. The beef was a recommendation of our excellent server and it was the right complement to the pumpkin. The food was prepared from fresh and high quality ingredients. We will return for dinner, and to work our way through the menu, including the Pho speciality of the house.

Be warned that it's a small place and it took nearly 1 hour between waiting for a table at noon to having food on the table. Nevertheless, the wait staff were exceedingly pleasant, efficient, and well informed about the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We eat at Lucky Corner at least twice a month and the food is always great. When my mom comes to visit, she makes us take her there. I love the veggie hot pot. Watch out for the crowds - at lunch and dinner times it is always crowded.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vietnamese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Best Vietnamese food in Washington DC area! The presentation and spices stand out and service is outstanding. It's a gem that stands out out in a small town with many very good restaurants!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Corner also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.