We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best salmon dishes I've eaten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard

The Orchard
43 N Market St, Frederick, MD 21701
(301) 663-4912
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 319 restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the best salmon dishes I've eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were most impressed with our dinner at this quaint restaurant in historic downtown Frederick. My husband started with a bowl of gazpacho, a refreshing choice for a hot day. Our salads were served with fresh dressings made in house. The entrees we selected were the jambalaya and the Jamaican jerk salmon. The jambalaya was loaded with seafood including shrimp and scallops. It was a bit of a different twist on the standard jambalaya, but was quite good. I thought the salmon was perfectly seasoned; the spicy rub on the fish was beautifully complemented by the sweet pineapple salsa. Apparently, this is a relatively new menu item, and our compliments were sent to the chef. The meals were served with fresh cornbread. Our service was excellent, and we were impressed as we watched all the servers cover each other's tables when needed. Charming decor included handmade quilts on the walls. The menu offered many healthy options, including a wide variety of vegetarian and vegan choices. We would recommend this restaurant and would certainly not hesitate to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    45
    24
    14
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenbelt, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, many gluten free options.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to this busy but charming place in downtown Frederick. The service was friendly, efficient and helpful.
Food was fresh and delicious. Nice wine list of reasonably priced wines. Vegetarians, vegans and meat-eaters all have many good choices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Out of Town Dinner Guest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a friend from out of town (California) visiting so we decided on dinner out. Our guest's preference was fresh and local. Reservations were easy and our table was ready when we arrived. The appetizer of fried breaded vegetables was average. The food was served at a good temperature and the presentation was nice. Overall flavor was average except for the salmon which was way over seasoned. My mouth was on fire! The service was good although our waiter could have been a bit more attentive. The interior restaurant could use a thorough cleaning as I could see cobwebs from where I was seated. A bit overpriced for quality and flavor. I had high expectations but were not completely met. Glad we tried here but will not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Stuff on Rice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We call this the "Stuff on Rice Place" because you can get anything on rice with different flavors such as Asian, Chinese, Indian, etc. Have been coming here for 16 years and love it every time. Try the Tomato Tamari salad dressing. (I bought some one time I loved it so much.) Plus my husband loves to make bad jokes about it like "You'd better order the Tomato Tamari" dressing now before they run out of it tomorrow..." Sigh. They offer a good salmon and other healthy meat dishes. I like that you can get tofu with your rice dishes, too. Atmosphere is turquoise and black quilts on the wall, hardwood floors, herbal tea to enjoy. Earthy but not over the top with it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Met my sister and her husband who for lunch. I wasn't very hungry and just had a bowl of gazpacho. It was very satisfying, which enough crunch of the fresh vegetables. I've also been here for dinner over the past year and the only dish I have not enjoyed is the tempura - too heavy and greasy batter.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard also viewed

 

Been to The Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.