We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner buffet, a disaster.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Lugo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Lugo to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Lugo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramon Ferreiro Avenue 21, 27002 Lugo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lugo
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Dinner buffet, a disaster.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Upon entering Gran Hotel Lugo it looks good. A large lobby with bar and at first sight, everything looks fine. But wait until you look further, and have seen your room. Old fashioned decor of the room (ref # 415), a very old TV on a dated refrigerator, faded glory. The rooms and bathroom are spacious, and there is ample hanging and storage space for clothes. The bed is good and there was no noise from outside or other rooms. With the group we had a dinner buffet, in a special room, where many groups were that night. The buffet was a disaster, long lines, empty bowls, where bowls were not filled up or very late and the food was of poor quality. Breakfast next day was even worse. On the ground floor they have an a la carte restaurant. WiFi is available at cost of €3 and to use the swimmingpool hotel guests have to pay €12,50. The hotel is within walking distance of the center, with many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    45
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
42
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I am tired of people whingeing about hotels, in their countries there is bad and good as well. This hotel was not grand but was very clean and the location was not far from shopping centre and the wall. The only thing was the noise of birds or bats in the alameda of trees in front of it, kept us awake.. I only would like to know what were they?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel has the potential to be much better! The location is very good for the old walled town. The rooms are a real disappointment. The decor in our bedroom was in yellow and orange. We had a twin room and it reminded me of going on school trips - very basic. The beds were comfortable enough, but the furniture dated and tired looking. There was a lamp hanging in the corner over a table that we bashed our heads on every day! I would return to Lugo but not this hotel! Very clean and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights to attend a business meeting. Overall the hotel is a little tired; it's of grand propotions but has seen better days. The rooms were clean and comfortable but not 4 star as advertised. WiFi was surprisingly good but there are no English TV channels. The staff were helpful but their English is limited. The highlight of my stay was the buffet breakfast - great choice!! The local donuts are a must-have! The hotel is just a few blocks away from the city centre. The Old Town area is a must-see (and walk along the top of the Roman city wall....)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Hampshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

We only stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the centre of Lugo and the roman walls. Lugo is full of history and is worth visiting. We had two rooms with a connecting door. The rooms were kept exceptionally clean. Free internet access in the lobby but you could only get WiFi in the lobby and not in your rooms which I thought was pointless. If you are going to have WiFi it should be available in your room. The breakfast, even though the same every day, was of very good quality. We had dinner twice in the restaurant and the food was good, although mine and the childrens steak was virtually "blue". There is an underground carpark which cost about 10.00 euros per day. The only bad thing about the hotel was the Spa facility. The cost to use the Spa is 17.00 euros per adult, and 15 euros per child, and that is per session and not for the whole stay. With two adults and three children it was something that was very expensive and we did not use, The Spa, even though in the Hotel, is run by another organisation. Overall I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Liked — cleaniness and the rooms are huge
  • Disliked — No WiFi access in room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

We were in a tour with transatours and when we arrived I fall down in the front of the hotel. NOBODY of the hotel came to see what happen or just ask how I was. It was a terrible experience with this.
On the other hand, the hotel is beautiful, confortable rooms and air condition.
When I arrive to PR the doctor found a fracture in my left arm.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Lugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Lugo

Address: Ramon Ferreiro Avenue 21, 27002 Lugo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Lugo Province > Lugo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lugo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Lugo 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Lugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Lugo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.