We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Place to stay in Barstow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added California Inn to your Saves list
California Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good Place to stay in Barstow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Hello
My wife and I stayed here and had a good room with a view of the pool. My wife went to the pool and had a great time. I worked on the computer and used the internet and had fast internet service.
We will stay their again.
Clean Room and good service.

Room Tip: I recommend a room Pool Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    245
    103
    25
    25
See reviews for
157
224
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place had the most comfortable bed I ever stayed in at a Inn. It was so quiet, I slept all night, hated to leave . Breakfast was good too.The room was clean, staff was friendly,. Joyce C I booked with booking. com. so checking in was easy.

Room Tip: You won't regret booking a room here, get one on the bottom floor, easy access for handicap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice hotel and good breakfast. Staff was friendly, rooms clean. Don't find hotels like this too often in Barstow. Easy access to freeway which made it easier to leave in the morning. I would recommend to anyone passing by.

Room Tip: Excellent breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After looking at the Google.com reviews and rates, I walked-in and booked one room for my night stay at this motel. The rooms were getting prepared when I checked in. My room was clean and in good condition. This place was very silent at the night time which was my first perference to come here. There are many rooms and so are the guest. I liked their breakfast compared to the other motels here. Whenever I return to Barstow, I will def. checkin at this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stopped in Barstow for the night our way to San Francisco from Texas. We had first checked out the Best Western but that didn't have any pet-friendly rooms left. Trip Advisor showed great reviews for the California Inn and they were right! Very friendly, huge rooms with plenty of floor space for my teenage boys to unroll their sleeping bags. Good breakfast, too. Wish we had been able to stay long enough to use the large clean pool. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed here several weeks ago to relax in the desert on my to Las Vegas. I checked in about 1;30 pm no problem. Went outside and hung out in pool reading a book and having a cool drink. Very few people there. The pool was a bit cool for a 100+F day but you got used to it soon. About 4:30 the people started checking in and coming to the pool. I went back to the room.
The room was clean as were the carpets, drapes, beds, and the bathroom was clean also. AC worked fine.
There were alot of nearby restaurants as this motel is right by I-15 and I-40. Something for everyone. A pretty quiet night. The free breakfast was above average in that there were hot sausages and waffles. There was pastries, bagels, fruit, and cereal also.
The only downside that I saw was that there was no elevator to reach the 2nd floor. When you book make sure you get the 1st floor if you need it.
I got a total rate of $43 thru Travelocity secret hotels.
Overall for a 2* motel this was better than average.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the property are quieter. But also bring earplugs when you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We used this as a stop off on our cross-country road trip. Rooms were clean, check in and check out was very efficient and the owners were very pleasant. The breakfast wasn't fancy but more than adequate for our tastes and the air-con was strong enough to combat the summer heat. We weren't there for long enough to use the pool, but it looked great and the fitness center was a basic, but welcome facility. They did appear to have security cameras for certain parking spots, easing our angst, but the fact that we were still nervous is possibly a factor of being in Barstow.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the second floor. I imagine the ones facing the pool are rather beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Barstow
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#2 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Barstow
Ramada Barstow
#14 of 29 in Barstow
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Barstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Inn

Address: 1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — California Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your California Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barstow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.