We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added California Inn to your Saves list
California Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast&WiFi
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Did the job well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We used this as a stop off on our cross-country road trip. Rooms were clean, check in and check out was very efficient and the owners were very pleasant. The breakfast wasn't fancy but more than adequate for our tastes and the air-con was strong enough to combat the summer heat. We weren't there for long enough to use the pool, but it looked great and the fitness center was a basic, but welcome facility. They did appear to have security cameras for certain parking spots, easing our angst, but the fact that we were still nervous is possibly a factor of being in Barstow.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the second floor. I imagine the ones facing the pool are rather beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    177
    77
    19
    21
See reviews for
94
149
36
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the back end of our cross country trip. The staff was friendly, the rooms were nice, and the beds were comfy. The continental breakfast is definitely better than every other place we had stayed, (coming from Florida there were a lot)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed last week end, July 20, 2014 at the California Inn. The rooms were clean, well appointed and easy to use. It was quiet, and the breakfast was superb. We are glad we booked the place before we arrived there, because by the time we arrived, the rooms were sold out. It is easy to access the freeways, and we truly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very nice location for our two day stay in Barstow, our room was clean and cool,the ac worked great! Free breakfast was small but ok, quiet and the staff were friendly and polite. The pool was crystal clean and large.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was traveling from the bay area to Las Vegas, which I normally do in one go, but had a late start, and ended up staying at California Inn. Checkin was easy and fast. The rooms are access via inside hallways vs Motel 6 style external doors. The room was surprisingly large, very clean. This place does have a pool, which I would have loved to use but I was arriving late and leaving early so did not have the extra time - but I did notice the pool area and pool itself were nice (on the south side, so likely very hot in the daytime in summer).

They were a bit skimpy on the towels, which was to be expected. If you're the "shower before bed and morning" type, then you can just ask the desk for extra towels.

There is a Denny's next door, although the motel does serve breakfast, which is the typical continental style, cereal, bagels, yogurt, fruit, etc.

I will definitely stay here again if I need a room in Barstow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The California Inn is older, but in good condition and clean, pretty standard in furnishings and arrangement. With three people using one bathroom, it was nice having two sinks - one in the room and one in the bathroom. Room had a micro/fridge and the standard breakfast was included. The A/C was turned off when we checked in. It was a really hot day and even when we turned it on high, the room did not cool off until the middle of the night (That, plus the lights, see below, was why I rated Sleep Quality poor). We would have liked to cool off in the pool, and the pool area was very nice, but the pool itself was dirty. And what's with the motion sensor lights in California? Not just here but everywhere we stayed. We would be reading or soaking in the tub and all of the lights would go out. Or if one of us got up in the night, suddenly every light in the room would come on. What a pain!

Room Tip: Call ahead and have them turn on the A/C several hours before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've stayed here on a previous trip from az to cali and was not disappointed. The rooms are very large and many have upgrades. All have a microwave and a fair size fridge. The rooms facing the pool are lovely and have a slider door to the inside courtyard area facing the mountains. Very nicely landscaped too. This family owned and operated hotel is definitely the place to stay if traveling this way. No street noise. Excellent customer service and a full hot breakfast with country gravy- yum! Can't beat the price of less than $50 per night and they let you have your dogs too.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to California Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Inn

Address: 1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Family Hotel in Barstow
#8 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — California Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your California Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barstow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.