We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1861 West Main Street, 1861 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311 (Formerly The Barstow Route 66 Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Shelley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, comfortable, and WONDERFUL Staff! I usually stay at Primm on my way between Idaho and Southern California. But after staying at this property, I will definitely stay here from now on. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoAparicio, Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr.Timothy R

We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to complete our online survey.

We love reading reviews such wonderful and positive feedback from our guests is very important to us. My Management team and Staff work very hard to provide a wonderful experience here at Sleep Inn Barstow. Your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Bibi Boucher
Assistant General Manager/Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
760-256-1300 Ext 409
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
19
23
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Sleep Inn is very well maintained and well managed. The public areas and our room were very clean and neat. Bibi, at the front desk, gave us excellent restaurant suggestions (with printed directions, hours, etc. Nice touch) and was knowledgable about local sites. A great place to enjoy a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front, away from train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoAparicio, Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Debbie V,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with my team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff and myself!!!! As we strive to continuously improve our services we provide to our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. And thank you so much for your wondeful comment about myself, I am so happy I helped make your stay a great one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bibi Boucher
Assistant General Manager/Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
760-256-1300 Ext 409
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is pretty much what everyone has said - it's clean and nice, with small rooms, Stayed there for 1 night on a road trip and was very happy with it. Breakfast was typical continental - couple hot items and some break/pastry choices. Cookies available at night are a nice touch. Woukd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoAparicio, Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Stock Tsi,

Thank you very much for taking time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and I will share it with my Management team and our amazing staff members.
Your nice comments responses are such encouragement to all of us here at Sleep Inn Barstow, we are always working hard to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bibi Boucher
Assistant General Manager/Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
760-256-1300 Ext 409
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Older hotel next to a rail yard, price from Priceline was good but the normal rate for this hotel is terrible. Barstow is a not a world class destination. Hotel has a habit of not changing bed sheets if you stay more than a night, my room was not always clean. Noise is a problem especially from the rail yard and you can hear what goes on in adjacent bed rooms and the hallway. I was offered earplugs when I asked about the noise. Hotel could probably do more to soundproof rooms. Housekeeping is ok but terribly managed. Breakfast looks disgusting. The front desk staff are pleasant and accommodating. Microwave and fridge in every bedroom, no closet though. At the end of the day the hotel is ok for Barstow but if you want a nicer place drive a mile up to Lenwood.

Room Tip: Closer to the front desk is better less rail yard noise. Ask for rooms on the second floor (200'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoAparicio, General Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jack3032014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs and expectations. I personally apologize for your disappointment with the service you received here at the sleep Inn. We take all feedback seriously and it helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. Cleanliness is what we build our reputation on and I will talk to my housekeeping team regarding these issues. We do have triple plated windows to reduce the sound and apologies this did not work. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us, Barstow and the Sleep Inn another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Please feel free to contact me any time.

Leo A.
General Manager
(760) 256-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We stopped here after hiking all day in Yosemite, on our way to Vegas. Hotel was very clean. The room /bathroom were clean. There were a couple of stains on carpet.
We had King bed, with shower only.
The bed was okay. It was a late check in and we were tired, but front desk clerk was very friendly. She was very thoughtful and brought us cookies and milk to our room. She said everyone deserves dessert!! We did hear the train but didn't disturb us or prevent us from going to sleep.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoAparicio, Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear Mickey1101,

Thank you for taking the time out of your bussinse schedule to complete fill out a tripadvisor online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I so very much appreciate and value your feedback and I can't wait to share it with my team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I so happy to hear you enjoyed the cookies I make for you. Congrats again!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bibi Boucher
Assistant General Manager/Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
760-256-1300 Ext 409
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

A nice older hotel The only negative I have is the train tracks not far from here and the train squeaks as the move cars all night. The room is roomy and all works. Wifi is good. I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: It is what it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoAparicio, Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Micheal,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and I have share it with my team here at the hotel. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of my staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bibi Boucher
Assistant General Manager/Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
760-256-1300 Ext 409
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Passing through Barstow, found the Sleep Inn. Hotel looks fairly new, and they keep it clean.
Be warned, no elevator in the building. But the hotel entrance and lobby are actually on the 2nd floor because of the property's slope, so you if you're like me and you like to stay on an upper floor, the lack of elevator is no problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeoAparicio, Manager at Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear BusyJoe ,

Thank you for taking the time to fill an TripAdvisor online survey with such awesome positive feedback! I have shared your encouraging comments with my staff here at the hotel. They join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take great pride in our hotel and the wonderful services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Bibi Boucher
Assistant General Manager/Sales Manager
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
760-256-1300 Ext 409
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Address: 1861 West Main Street, 1861 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311 (Formerly The Barstow Route 66 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay awhile with this hotel on Route 66 location. Welcome to the friendly Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 Hotel, where the coffee and iced tea are ever-flowing and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel specializes in taking care of business travelers, specifically government and military travelers in need of extended stay options. Guests enjoy both free wired and wireless HSIA and a 24-hour Business Center with fax, print and copy services. No matter if you are in town dealing with the Railyards, USMC Logistics Base or Fort Irwin Military Base, the hotel can help you stay productive and comfortable. We also offer per diem rates year-round.The hotel's location in Barstow, CA surrounds guests with rich railroad and pioneering history, so consider starting your adventure at Calico Ghost Town, which offers gold panning, mine tours and gunfight stunt shows. Experience the desert landscape as you tour the National Training Center at Fort Irwin. The hotel is also on Historic Route 66, so a visit to the Route 66 Mother Road Museum is a must. While there's plenty for the hotel's guests to do in Barstow, CA, the on-site amenities offer guests plenty of options, as well. Soak up some rays by the outdoor pool, grill out with the propane barbecue grill or work out in the Fitness Center. We serve a hot and free breakfast daily. Book today and let us show you what a difference friendly Southwestern hospitality makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow - Historic Route 66 Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow
Barstow Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.