We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait for the upgrade” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1861 West Main Street, 1861 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311 (Formerly The Barstow Route 66 Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wait for the upgrade”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

After driving in Death Valley all day, we were looking for a trusted name. We found this a Holiday Inn on our GPS, AND it had the history of Route 66.

As we entered a completely empty parking lot, we excitedly went in to ask for the walk-in rate. $109! After discussing it further with the front desk 'kid', we were informed the manager was out of town, and he did not have the authority to wiggle on the price. So, we got on the computer and used our points.

We were 'upgraded' to a king room. As soon as we walked into the room, my husband said it was exactly like a Comfort Inn. It was. They had recently purchased it under the Holiday Inn logo.

There was a loud screeching noise every few minutes. In our room key folder, it was explained that it was near a train switch yard. They had supposedly put in triple paned windows, but it still did not help with the sound. We were welcome to go to the front desk for earplugs. These were individually wrapped.

Our room looked over a roof, and tool shed (which seems to be our usual lately!!). Due to the king bed, there was absolutely no room to move around with two people. The chair in the room was filthy. I did not want to put my purse on it.

Breakfast was typical for hotels. Nothing elaborate.

WAIT FOR THE RENOVATIONS if you are going, and don't forget your Bose noise reduction headphones!!!!

Room Tip: ask for the street side, it may help reduce the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
19
23
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, MS & London, England.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I spend roughly two thirds of my life in hotel rooms due to my job. This is one of the worst hotels I have ever experienced. Tiny room, air-conditioner not functioning properly, no bath tub, thin walls - just a horrible night. And then, having booked my room using my Priority Club reward points, and being told there was a zero balance when I checked out, I found that they had charged my credit card. Stay away, I would rather sleep in my car than have to go near this place ever again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday night. It was quiet and staff was very friendly and informative. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only was a shower which is fine for us but when you walked in bathroom it felt like a space tube with really loud fans. Train yard behind hotel that is really loud but we only heard it when we were outside. Would come back again if in area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We should have known something was wrong when we checked in at reception and were provided a note that offered free earplugs.

The noise from the adjacent train switching yard goes 24/7 and sounds like something scratching their fingernails on a blackboard.

The rooms are tiny and the bathroom has to be the smallest I've ever been in (it felt like it was designed to go in a submarine).

I highly recommend that you consider the other Holiday Inn Express in Barstow, up the road near the outlet stores.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, clean and comfortable with great beds and bedding and a good breakfast in the mroning. There was some train noise, but it wasn't obtrusive. But our room was on opposite side of building. I grew up near trains and find the noise restfull when it's not too loud. Brings back old memories.

This was our last stop on Route 66 before heading for home in SF. There isn't a lot to do in Barstow and all I really wanted after a month of motels is a clean and comfortable place, which is what this place offers. Nice folks at the desk helped us find a good place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here on a two week business trip. The first week was great, they warned of train noise from the switchyard that is located approx. 1 mile away behind the hotel but my room was on the lower floor about midway on the parking lot side of the hotel and the noise could not be heard inside my room. Room location would be important here for sure but the windows are quality and probably don't let much noise get through in any of the rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous and although the rooms were smaller than your standard one by todays standards, it was actually "cozy". Across the street is where I ate nightly at Bun Boy. Good food for a good price. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that needs to stay in Barstow!

Room Tip: Get a room on the bottom floor, parking lot side, and close to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

The room was clean, but very small and cramped. The low ceiling didn't help (I'm 5'9" and my hands hit the ceiling when stretching my arms over my head). The hotel is located next to a major rail yard, so trains are screeching all night long and are quite loud. The HIExpress on Lenwood looks nicer, newer and in a much better area. Should have stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66

Address: 1861 West Main Street, 1861 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311 (Formerly The Barstow Route 66 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay awhile with this hotel on Route 66 location. Welcome to the friendly Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 Hotel, where the coffee and iced tea are ever-flowing and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel specializes in taking care of business travelers, specifically government and military travelers in need of extended stay options. Guests enjoy both free wired and wireless HSIA and a 24-hour Business Center with fax, print and copy services. No matter if you are in town dealing with the Railyards, USMC Logistics Base or Fort Irwin Military Base, the hotel can help you stay productive and comfortable. We also offer per diem rates year-round.The hotel's location in Barstow, CA surrounds guests with rich railroad and pioneering history, so consider starting your adventure at Calico Ghost Town, which offers gold panning, mine tours and gunfight stunt shows. Experience the desert landscape as you tour the National Training Center at Fort Irwin. The hotel is also on Historic Route 66, so a visit to the Route 66 Mother Road Museum is a must. While there's plenty for the hotel's guests to do in Barstow, CA, the on-site amenities offer guests plenty of options, as well. Soak up some rays by the outdoor pool, grill out with the propane barbecue grill or work out in the Fitness Center. We serve a hot and free breakfast daily. Book today and let us show you what a difference friendly Southwestern hospitality makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow - Historic Route 66 Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow
Barstow Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Barstow on Historic Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.