We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn On Historic Route 66

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn On Historic Route 66 to your Saves list
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 E Main St., Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Needs Updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had reservations for an accessible room w/roll-in shower. Check-in was just fine and the room was what my husband needed. The room was comfortable and clean, but the carpeting is raveled in some places (dangerous for handicapped) and is badly stained. It needs to be replaced. Great tv programing and a nice wide screen with HD. Breakfast in the Mexican restaurant on the site was very good. We had dinner there, too, enjoying large portions and reasonable prices. Beds in the room were comfortable. As with many hotels, there is little sound proofing. You can easily hear showers, flushing toilets, tv, and voices in adjacent rooms. Ear plugs at night help! This is an older hotel that is in need of refurbishment.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level, if you are not handicapped. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    86
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
57
75
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have stayed here several times as a convenient stopover as a halfway point when driving from Arizona to California, and we will stay here again. It is an easy access from the freeway in a convenient location. The room is a typical motel room and clean. The décor is okay, Flat screen TV, good shower and the room is basically quite adequate for what it is. There is a restaurant attached which is primarily Mexican food and very good. Staff are very friendly and efficient. A complimentary full breakfast is served in the restaurant. Reception staff at motel check in are very friendly and informative. This motel is definitely good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice room for an older hotel but nicely maintained. Could use a few updates, like lounge chairs in hallways a little worn. Very good full breakfast in the self-contained restaurant. Comfortable beds and nice large HDTV.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Ok size room, micro and fridge, comfortable chair and ottoman. OK size flat screen, but it is mounted on wall and can't be turned one way or another. Also, can't add your Apple TV or other device because ports are against wall. On first look I thought there were lots of TV stations, but no guide in the room to help you find the station you want. After I surfed a while, I realized at least half if not more of the stations that popped up didn't work, I guess they weren't subscribed. Many popular stations like SY FY, MSNBC, others, wouldn't come up.

Not well maintained. The plastic piece that is supposed to keep curtains from doorway was not attached in my room. This also had the affect of moving the bar (for locking) into the locked position when I left room, thus couldn't get back in. Front desk person had tool to fix that, so this must happen often.

Both ice machines were broken the entire time I stayed there (4 days). You had to hike over to the restaurant to get ice.

Wifi is ok speed, but you have to login each time you close your laptop, or turn off your iPhone or iPad. Dumb

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Our group comes to Barstow every year for the LAB2V ride and is composed of over 550+ people, so we end up filling a quite a few of the hotels in the area, I always stay at the Quality Inn. To be honest, this is not a fancy 4 or 5 star hotel, but that being said, I think it is the best bang for your buck for the hotels in the area. The Beds are older, but comfortable, The rooms are decent and very clean, Its right off the freeway, but quite. Rooms are close to parking, and the flat screen TV are great & free internet a plus. What sets this Hotel apart from the others are the excellent staff & the attention they gave to us, The On Site Mexican Restaurant just off of the lobby has excellent food & drinks, and they offer (FOR FREE) A full Bacon & Egg style breakfast in the morning I definitely recommend the Quality Inn if staying in Barstow

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The management was wonderful, staff ok. Room ok and courtyard nice but beds firm older/ cheaper style. Tv awesome with free past- current tv shows (like Netflix type arrangement). Would stay again if on budget . Nice Breakfast includes but waitress below average

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If I have to stop for an overnight in Barstow while on the road, this is my pick. The rooms are adequate, but not fancy. However, the Mexican Restaurant just inside the lobby makes up for that. Nothing like a good Margarita after driving 8 hours on the highway. The dinners are quite good and take away the need to get back in the car and find a restaurant. Room price includes a made-to-order, simple, but good breakfast in the restaurant. Can't beat that, plus the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn On Historic Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn On Historic Route 66

Address: 1520 E Main St., Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn On Historic Route 66 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel on historic Route 66. Easy freeway access to I-15 and I-40. All rooms include free cook-to-order hot breakfast, free WIFI, flat panel TV, coffee maker and work desk with ergonomic chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn On Historic Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66 Hotel Barstow
Quality Inn Barstow
Hotel Inn Quality
Quality Inn Hotels
Barstow Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn On Historic Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.