We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful without incident” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn On Historic Route 66

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn On Historic Route 66 to your Saves list
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 E Main St., Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful without incident”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After to long drive due to a federal transfer from Cheyenne, WY, (although residence in Portland, OR) it was nice to arrive at the Quality Inn.

The staff was pleasant and helpful. The people staying there weekly were for various utility companies and numerous travelers on the way from winter Pacific NW locations to Arizona.

The staff took immediate action after I spotted some questionable persons in the parking lot. They were also great in helping me find the safer neighborhoods to live in Barstow.

They do offer a cook to order breakfast, which as I work at Fort Irwin, CA -45 minutes away I wish was served a little earlier at I start work at 7:00am.

I Highly recommend this hotel and restaurant over another hotel I stayed in in Barstow later which you should read.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the courtyard, which is well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    84
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
56
73
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Irwin, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm still checked I. And loving it! Had a yummy cooked to order breakfast. My grand kids have been running around the grassy courtyard outside of our front door. The hotel is extremely clean and very cozy. Top notch service too!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

...however, this motel is starting to show wear. Our room had black marks on the carpet and you could see it was starting to show its age from wear and tear.

The staff were friendly and check in went well. A cooked to order breakfast is something different and a nice change.

All in all, a value for money option and a one night stop over place - but I wish I had used a coupon! YMMV

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The drive from Mariposa to Barstow had been a long, hot one so we were happy that the Quality Inn was not only easy to find, but it had lots of space to park and check-in was a breeze. Reception was friendly and efficient and the sounds of merriment coming from the in-house restaurant, Los Domingos (which I have reviewed separately), promised a pleasant evening. So far so good.

We had asked for an upper-floor room in the two-storey block and got just that. It was a large room with masses of storage space, a huge bed and room to breathe - all we needed. I was happy to sit with the door open and listen to the sounds of traffic on this fragment of Route 66. The management has dotted signs around the property pointing out that the "quiet hours" are 9 pm to 9 am. Despite the number of people around in the evening, I'm happy to say that rule was respected. We slept well - the acid test.

The property as a whole is imposing. It has an impressive covered vehicle entrance, attractive arches and some very neat landscaping and trees out front and in the courtyard. The pool looked appealing too - though not when you have eaten a sizeable Mexican dinner. The lobby, restaurant, bar area and function room are all of a decent size and, well, you just don't feel hemmed in here. At any time of day or night, free coffee (good coffee, with your choice of flavourings) is available next to reception. A nice touch.

A word of praise for the reception staff here. They great on check-in and as we were leaving, they not only showed us the location of the Route 66 Museum on a map, they also called them to find out the opening time.

I don't know if our travels will bring us back to Barstow but if they do, the Quality Inn will be our first choice.

Room Tip: A top-floor room provided a good night's sleep. Outward-facing was fine as there was no late-ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

In my trip from Vegas to LA, stopped at Quality Inn Barstow. Anna, the young lady at the front desk could not have been more helpful, friendly and made the entire night enjoyable with her bubbly personality and customer care. you don't see that much any more and rarely from younger people.

The room was very VERY nice...would definitely recommend this to anyone. Rate was reasonable...bed comfortable, very clean.

Had dinner at the restaurant on premise and food was really good.

Room came with hot to order breakfast that was really nice.

ALL GOOD.

Room Tip: No bad rooms. We faced the highway and would never have known by the quiet room, so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Anna greeted us, great lady, she is informative and professional. Great room, large, roomy. Had a first floor room, quiet, in the back. Nice grounds, pool, bar-b-ques, benches. This is an older property, designed as an resort. Great breakfast, order from a menu, waitress brings the food, nice setting. The price is fair. Will stay here again, when passing through Barstow.

Room Tip: Traveling west on either I-15 or I-40, take the East Main Street off ramp. On the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great shower pressure, adequate beds, pets allowed, decent on- site restaurant though priced high in my opinion. Truck parking. A pretty good stay after a cross- country trip though a bit high in price. Clean property and clean rooms wrap up this one to bring it slightly above average.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn On Historic Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn On Historic Route 66

Address: 1520 E Main St., Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn On Historic Route 66 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel on historic Route 66. Easy freeway access to I-15 and I-40. All rooms include free cook-to-order hot breakfast, free WIFI, flat panel TV, coffee maker and work desk with ergonomic chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn On Historic Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66 Hotel Barstow
Quality Inn Barstow
Hotel Inn Quality
Quality Inn Hotels
Barstow Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn On Historic Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.