We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room, friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Barstow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Barstow to your Saves list
Motel 6 Barstow
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   150 Yucca Avenue, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dirty room, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly staff. Our room was dirty, I don't think they cleaned the floors ever. One of the worst showers I have ever had. No water pressure and smallest shower I've ever seen. But I guess its to be expected for $45 a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    34
    3
    9
See reviews for
19
25
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I don't know know where some of the other reviewers stayed, but my ground floor room was truly yucky! The check in fellow was pleasant and offered the ground floor room for convenience. Perhaps the upper floor is less yucky. While I realize Motel 6 is budget, no frills, etc., I really just want a clean place to sleep and bathe. The linens were suspiciously dusty smelling, the box spring edge was covered with stains, and everything felt old and grungy. The bathroom vanity light was a starkly bright light, which I will say is better than the dim, mood lighting that many hotels and motels offer, but in this case served only to show the gunk in the tub drain! The bath mat was left in the tub and I opted to not shower due to that. And yes, it was cheap, but can you say it was a good value when I felt like I slept in someone else's dirt!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

No fridges as standard- like most of the motel6 I gather, but reception said they had a few if you pre-booked. There weren't any available as we just booked online the night before and didn't realise. Just filled the sink with ice from machines to keep our food and drinks cool. Clean and seemed to be newly decorated. Slightly nicer than another motel6 we stayed at during our trip. Not much to 'do' in Barstow, but close to shops and restaurants and the pool was good to cool down in during the mid day heat. Good value for money and comfortable for 1-2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from car park if a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at the motel 6 on the way from Grand Canyon to Sequia National Park ads just needed a place to stay for the night. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and recommended a very good Mexican restaurant where we ate later. The rooms are basic with not many amenities but clean and the bed comfortable and in all excellent value for money. Short walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, AZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

After an awful stay at the Motel 6 in Willows, CA the night before, we were not expecting much of this hotel. What a pleasant surprise, however, to find a clean, comfortable and very quiet room. The location is near shopping and restaurants and the staff is attentive and helpful. We would definitely stay here in the future. It is also very pet friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinec, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ordinary Motel 6 - good for one or two nights. Quite cheap with outstanding quality. Walls are really thin and if you have room facing tyhe parking lots, it is quite noisy all the night. But as I mentioned for one or two nights it is fine for the price.
Lot of restaurants, shops, etc. around.

Room Tip: Better rooms are not facing the road and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Arrived 4th June 2013 at 2.30 pm - this is an old fashioned Motel 6 property. Check-in was quick and easy. I asked for a street level room away from a noisy areas as Im a light sleeper. This room selection proved not to be a problem for the reception staff. It was pleasing to be asked if I need any further tourist or eating information towards the end of the check in process. This motel has a pool which at the deepest end is just 5 feet. There is plenty of car parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Barstow

Address: 150 Yucca Avenue, Barstow, CA 92311
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Barstow Hotel Barstow
Motel Six Barstow
Barstow Motel Six
Barstow Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.