We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff & Clean Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Barstow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Barstow to your Saves list
Motel 6 Barstow
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   150 Yucca Avenue, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff & Clean Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I made reservations in advance, asked for a room with a refrigerator and microwave, and got a senior discount. I'm traveling with two small dogs so Motel 6 is one of my most affordable options. This motel is on a side street so it is quiet and felt safe. There is a large grocery store two blocks away which I walked to around nine o'clock. I was very impressed by this staff; they were very friendly when I checked in. The first room I was put in smelled like cat pee and they immediately switched me to another room a few doors down. The room was clean and pleasant. The bathroom was large and clean. The outlet in the bathroom did not work. I paid the small amount for the WiFi and it was strong. I slept very well with only a few distractions during the night from a very large group of young adults (4 or 5 carloads) arriving for a wedding. I don't think their noise would have woken me up but for my dogs being disturbed and giving a "yip" a couple of times. The next morning, I was disappointed to find out that the refrigerator had quit working during the night. I lost the meat for my dogs' food, my breakfast, and didn't have the freezer packs cold for the cooler. I called to tell them at the front desk and they apologized and said if I would bring the cooler packs down to them they would put them in the freezer in the breakroom until I left, which I did. The desk clerk called about 20 minutes later and said they were going to refund the basic rate for the room (minus tax and Internet), which was a very nice thing to do. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    34
    3
    9
See reviews for
19
25
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here on the way through to Joshua Tree national park and eventually Mexico. Because of travel with dogs Motel 6 makes life easy. Rooms were clean and comfortable and motel is located in a quiet area of the main road.
You can walk across the street to a Vons grocery store as well as several other stores and restaurants. There are also several other choices for motels near to here. We will stay here again on our way back north.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A very nice Motel 6 with more room to move around in than many Motel 6's we have stayed in. Clean, very friendly staff with easy access to the highways. Never bothered by train noise. Very convenient to eateries and Catholic church. We stayed their again on the way home.
In addition: Although the maps show the train tracks nearby, we never heard the train as we were up the hill. That is a MAIN line for the trains, where they "power up" for speed - do Not stay any closer to the freeway entrance if you want to avoid the noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night on the way from LA to Las Vegas. The location is very good and quite. The rooms are clean, not too old. We didn’t expect anything special from the motel for one night. Next to the motel we found the supermarket “Vons” which we liked very much. The morning coffee is standard American, but still something before we reach any other place for the normal one..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

In the middle of the desert.
It is a good location in the middle to stop during the way to vegas.
The room was clean and equipped with towels.
No complaints!
Do NOT leave anything in the car & try to park infront of the front desk!
Way more safe than around the building.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over The Silver State
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

One of the better Motel 6's I've seen. We stayed at this one on the way from Las Vegas to Ventura. On a side street off the main boulevard, and set back from the street. Very quiet. Must be well insulated, because we heard nothing from the pool outside.or the semi truck parked nearby. Lots of eating options on Main St., within less than a mile. If you stay a night (or more) in Barstow, this is the place for comfort & savings.

Room Tip: We were upstairs, at a corner. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in before. We checked in and went to the room and turned the a/c on right away, it was around or over 100 outside, we left the room for abut and hour or two to go to the store when we got back it was still HOT in the room. later that night the toliet backed up on us and when I asked for someone to take care of it I was handed a plunger to do it myself, when the toilet overflowed and I could not do their maintance's job they said they would have to move us. Little did I know it would be 3 buildings down and around the other side of the building. We barely got our stuff in the room and my 5 yr old son had to us the restroom, well needless to say, that toliet was also clogged before we even used it and the a/c never worked in this room either. So once again I had to walk all the way around the buildings and down the stairs to get another set of keys for a new room. The plumbing worked in this room, but the a/c still did not. I dont know how you get 3 different rooms and not one a/c would blow out cold air, so we slept in a very warm room and couldnt wait to check out. I would NOT recommend anyone stay here if you need to beat the heat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Barstow

Address: 150 Yucca Avenue, Barstow, CA 92311
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Barstow Hotel Barstow
Motel Six Barstow
Barstow Motel Six
Barstow Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.