We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HappySwede” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Barstow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Barstow to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Barstow
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 E. Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Taby, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HappySwede”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Reasonably priced, very friendly staff and the room was clean and well maintained. Good value for money. Pool was clean and the simple lobby breakfast was okay. We had a problem with the hotel WiFi which staff took care of instantly. Overall the management made a very friendly impression.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
16
16
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I guess we were more tired than I figured as I think we were hallucinating when we chose this motel. Not only was it on the edge of the seedier part of town but the motel must have had much much better days. A little more attention to maintenance would go a long way here. One thing I have no complaint about is the personality of the management. He was so very personable!!! The free breakfast was attrocious. There are ways to keep costs down and still provide a decent continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a night in the econo .. the guy at the desk was very friendly and helpful.

this place is ok for one night ..its cheap and comfortable but lacks the extra oomph that's need it to make it a really good place to stay .
Better attention needs to be paid to cleanliness.
I really don't want to be to hard on the econo cos the owner tried really hard to please .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were in this motel for 1 night and it was more than enough. We arrived at the reception and there was a dead insect on the floor.Ok the hotel was cheap but this doesn't justify the dust, rubbish under the bed and the rust under the sink..there was some object forgotten under the bed!
There was the breakfast included but it would have been better not to include it. Orange juice was like colored water and there was almost nothing to eat. We had breakfast at Denny's just across the street (we suggest it also for dinner).
Just one positive thing: the guy at the reception was helpful and gave us some useful tips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a very long day of travel my teen daughter and I decided to call it a night at the Econolodge. Although it was after 11 pm, the front desk was friendly at check in, but the assigned room was a total disappointment. It was still 90 degrees outside and the room had been closed up and the a/c completely off. Even after turning it on and running all night it didn't cool the room and we were sweaty messes all night having to take 2 showers. The fridge wasn't cool and didn't work when we did plug it in. The TV was old, bad reception. The room itself was dirty. Breakfast I was told wasn't served until after 8:30 am! Way late for folks wanting to get on the road early, so obviously a scam to save $$$ on customers. Overall, terrible stay, left feeling exhausted and taken advantage of. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My mother and I I recently spent a very unpleasant night in a room that had not been "upgraded" (bottom left room across from the office). There was a large black mold accumulation above the toilet and I don't believe the window sill in the shower had ever been cleaned as there were used shampoo bottles and razors covered in a thick layer of filth. Needless to say, we did not dare use the shower. I have photos to back this up. Also, the room REEKED of deoderizer; the need for which I don't even want to think about. I would not recommend this hotel as the front desk man just shrugged when we advised him of the conditions. I can't believe AAA would be associated with this motel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the bottom left (301?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Were staying in the hotel for a long period, cuz of business trip. The best choice in this city, if comparing price/quality. Clean rooms, Convenient location - foodmarket round the corner, and a good bakery restaurant just near the hotel. The pool saved us in these hot days, when it was bout 100 F.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Barstow

Address: 1230 E. Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66, 1/2 mile from I-15 and I-40. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barstow Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Barstow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.