We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bedding was not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Barstow

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Barstow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Barstow
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 E. Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Barstow
Tracy, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The bedding was not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Since we were only there about 4 hrs, we figured it wasn't too bad for the price. But after staying one night we decided to pay a little more and go somewhere else for our second night. The pillows were about 2 inches thick and the blanket was terrible. Big holes and very very worn, my dogs have better blankets! The hot water never really got hot, had to shower in room temp water. Left before breakfast was served, so we can't rate that. Arrived around midnight and there were a several noisy men hanging out around the pool area. I'm glad they didn't put me over there near them. We were back on the road around 5am.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
16
15
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here this week, recommended by a gentleman who ran a RV place, where we stopped for directions. It was a good choice, it was clean, spacious with good facilities and a light breakfast included. The Manager was extremely helpful with guidance for our ongoing trip to Death Valley and was even kind enough to assist us on I.T. when we were struggling to get our laptop enabled to use the WiFi. We would strongly recommend this Lodge.
Mr and Mrs Bridges, Sheffield, England

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

we needed an inexpensive place to stay halfway home from Phoenix, Arizona, and decided on Barstow. we were traveling with a dog, so choices were limited...the room was basic (some of the furniture did not match and was very spare), but was clean - sheets, floors, sink and toilet. the shower had mildew growing in it and the hotel is in dire need of updating. bit ot was cheap, clean, and exactly as advertised. the innkeeper was prompt and friendly (made our reservations ahead of time). Our only suggestions would be that they spread out the guests among the hotel rooms (had a snorer that came into room at 4am and a woman who was smoking outside our door) and that they clean the mildew out of the shower.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not immediately adjacent to other guests...the walls are a bit thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I cannot reccomend this location. In deed I would reccomend AGAINST it. Traveling 14 hours from the San Franciso Bay Area, Barstow was the halfway point and a stopping point for the night. Th eEcono Lodge offered an in room fridge, a microwave and a Continental Breakfast. All at a Budget Price. We reserved a room heading out on our trip and returning. The first night, outbound, we wound up under the stairwell (room 115) and were kept up half the night as other lodgers tramped up and down the stairs. The walls were thin and we could hear our neighbors talking. The paint in the room was peeling and the grout in the bathroom missing in places. The sheets were "hospital Quality" - itchy and scratchy such that my wife used a felt quilt to soften the discomfort.

We left to start our trip early and missed out on the brekafast. On our return, we requested a room away from the stairs and received one two doors down. We were told that due to the sparcity of roomers, the maid only came a few times a week - apprently the rooms were kept "un-made" until enough used rooms accumulated to warrant calling in the Maid to clean a number of rooms. Again, while the room was "clean", it was tired and paint and the grout demonstrated this. We slept better this time, with no neighbors beside us or stairwell in front of us. We arose early, went for a walk and returned in time for the Continental Breakfast. Coffee, Hot Water (no sign of tea bags) and 1/2 loaf of bread with a toaster greeted us in the populated small lobby. We filled our travel mugs with hot water, returned to our rooms, made our own tea with our own tea bags and hit the road for home, pausing for a true breakfast in Bakersfield.

The rooms are "clean', but it is truly a budget motel - a good value but only because it isinexpensive

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped at the Econo Lodge in Barstow, CA., thinking that since it was AAA recommended it had to be all right. It wasn't! We asked for a room downstairs with a king sized bed and were told that the owner/manager? (we don't know which) hadn't called the maid in and all he had was upstairs. We were told that for $10 more, we could have a room downstairs with two twin beds. Somehow we knew we were being scammed, but we opted to stay because we had driven most of the day. We should have been warned: there were no cars in the parking lot!

The next morning we went in for breakfast as the AAA book promised. What a flop! We were "offered" what was left of a half loaf of bread, some jam that was so old that you couldn't spread it, and two dispensers of cereal: one contained Cheerios; the other held what looked like sugared flakes. There was regular coffee but we didn't see decaf or tea. The orange juice in the dispenser tasted like grapefruit juice. It may have been fermenting.

When we spoke to the owner/manager? he told us he didn't like being in Barstow and that he'd love to go back to LA. We think that's a good idea. This man does not belong in a service oriented profession: he's negative and definitely not there to provide service. We couldn't wait to get out of there. Let me point out too that at 7 a.m., there were four cars in the parking lot and one of them was ours.

The only kind thing I can say about the place is that it was clean---but so is the Motel 6! I don't know why this place is on the AAA's list!

Room Tip: Want a tip in choosing a good room? Drive on to the next motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have never been treated with such a terrible attitude then we were when requesting a room at this location. The hotel clerk had a very negative attitude and when I asked him why he became aggressive and wanted to argue with me. At that point I asked for my card back and he used profanity and told us to get off his property. I have never been talked to in this manner before.

Room Tip: I do not know how the accommodations were because we never got beyond the front desk. If the accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked in and given room 116. Opened the door and the heat hit you, the air-conditioning had not been on for some time. Reason given - We don't have many smokers, or were they just saving electricity? Having said that the room itself was very clean & tidy with all the facilities needed for an overnight stay. The receptionist was pleasant and made booking in a breeze.
Medium price for a motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Barstow

Address: 1230 E. Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Barstow 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66, 1/2 mile from I-15 and I-40. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barstow Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Barstow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.