We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Cares” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1984 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This Place Cares”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Does not look like much on the outside but rooms are nicely decorated and a/c is great even in 100 degree heat. TV remote has been sanitized, ear plugs are provided for the sensitive traveler since motel is next to the freeway. Staff is very friendly and breakfast was more than ample. A good choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We were delighted to read your review and so pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable at the Best Western in Barstow, CA. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in Barstow.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    153
    60
    25
    17
See reviews for
115
141
29
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geleen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

After a long drive from Tioga Pass through Death Valley we were very pleased to find an affordable place to stay for the night. The room was clean and we slept well despite the trains that seemed to run all night and day. We did not hear them! Breakfast was very well stocked, clean and friendly staff to assist you. Overall a great stay!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Nanthahala

Thank you for your 5 star review!! Thank you so much for your feed back of our hotel. I am thrilled to see that we were able to provide you with an amazing stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The property is older but is in good condition. The upgraded rooms are larger and more comfortable. Our high speed internet did not work very well on Netflix. Our breakfast was outstanding with fresh fruit, eggs, meat, a good selection of breads and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Kenneth

We were delighted to read your review and so pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable. Your comment regarding the internet is appreciated and we are resolving this. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have been staying at Best Western desert inn for over 9 months now. checking in on Monday out on Fridays. Have had 2 mishaps with reservations that a quick and easy solution was given. The staff is top notch in my eyes. Patty and the afternoon and early evening girls are fantastic! some of the nicest and friendly helpful people ive ever had the pleasure of doing business with. The rooms are clean amenities are good. The cleaning staff does a great job as well. Being on the road the majority of the time for business when I stay at a hotel that does a good job such as best western desert villa inn. it takes away some of the being away from home blues. Patty and the girls always have a smile and are in a good mood and that makes being away from home a little bit easier. The confidence I have in knowing I am going to have a comfortable place to stay makes it so I have one less thing to worry about so less stress. I would recommend this hotel to anybody at any time needless to say I wouldn't stay anywhere else if im ever in the area it will be my number one choice. Id like to say thank you to patty and all the girls for making my home away from home comfortable and I look forward to staying with them again in the future. They deserve any and all the recognition they receive as a customer I couldn't say anything but great things about them. Truly top notch customer service and just great people.i would highy recommend the place to anybody needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Pete

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and hospitality at the Best Western Desert Villa Inn. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to hear that our teams have succeeded in ensuring that our guests experience that care. I will share your comments with our teams and especially with Patty.

Again, Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you again soon.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tome
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have stayed here many times en-route from NM to CA. Always clean, friendly with a great breakfast. The staff is great. The clerk upgraded us to a suite for free. Nice and roomy. I do have a couple small negative comments. The pullout bed was in poor shape. The bottom springs were missing and replaced with ropes. I made my reservation using hotels.com and did note I had a small 7 lb dog, which pets are allowed. The morning I was checking out the phone rang and I missed it and then on the second call it was the front desk stating there is a 15.00 pet charge which I was fully aware of. Although the clerk was nice I didn't appreciate the insinuation I was trying to be shady. When I said I did note that in my reservation she said she didn't see it. I fully planned to pay for my dog. Other than that great stay

Room Tip: Very loud on the north side. West was better last time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank You for visiting our hotel while staying in Barstow, CA. We appreciate the comments and will be sure to send your feedback to our staff. I apologize about the call regarding the pet fee.

We appreciate your candor and hope to see you in the future.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good-perfect location. I really don't like the 200 character minimum requirement on this trip adviser survey, however, and will not be repeating this part of the survey. I'm not sure why they insist on punishing the customer in such a way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
John

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Riding a Harley Trike through the desert with a temp of 115 degrees we were more than ready to find a place to stop. It was only 2:30 in the afternoon but we were exhausted. This place was like an oasis. It was clean, cool, friendly staff, beds were comfortable. We ate at The Sizzler down the street and it had a good salad bar also.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Marilyn

We appreciate all of your wonderful comment regarding your stay at Best Western Barstow. I'm happy to hear you had a fabulous experience and we hope to have the luxury of serving you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn

Address: 1984 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#6 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is a moderately priced, pet friendly hotel conveniently located on Route 66 in quaint downtown Barstow, California. Offering all of the features and amenities that business and leisure travelers expect, the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is situated just minutes from the Amtrak station and only 71 miles from Ontario International Airport. Guests traveling to Barstow and through Barstow will all appreciate the friendly service and delightful accommodations provided by the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Hotel Barstow
Best Western Desert Hotel
Best Western Barstow
Barstow Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.