We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Race Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1984 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in April 2012. Browsing through trip advisor we came across reviews of Desert Villa Inn. They brought back happy memories of the night we stayed after a long flight from England.
We were so tired we didn't notice the noises. Seeing the trains, large trucks and huge motorbikes made us think of old America, before we set off down the Route 66 to The Grand Canyon
The hotel was excellent value, clean good breakfast and friendly pleasant staff. If you want the Ritz you need to pay the price. We would definitely stay if we pass that way again. The scenery was awesome as the Americans would say.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time when passing thru Barstow be sure to visit us.

Safe and Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lethbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location for long distance travellers but when a hotel provides complimentary ear plugs you have a good indication of what's in store. The hotel was clean but old with doors to outside (motel style) and old fixtures etc. breakfast was average but sufficient (no hash browns :(. Would not be my choice again mainly because of the train and dated feel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Traveler

Thank you for your comments. As with most hotels in Barstow the train does run past them in the evenings. We are sorry that this disturbed you. We are replacing all the furniture and TV's in the guest rooms at the end of this month. If you are in Barstow again I encourage you to come our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stopped here overnight on a tour and it was perfectly nice.

Lots of nice touches like a towel elephant on the bed, ear plugs, toiletries etc provided - they really try to make your stay as nice as possible.

However, there are trains running past the hotel all night, some if which even shook me in my bed! and two busy roads. As soon as I put the earplugs in and fell asleep it was fine.

Breakfast is included and there are waffles, yogurt, cereals, juices, eggs etc.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Traveling EMM

We are humbled by your review thank you for your kind words.

In fact- the credit is due to my staff. They are proud of what they are doing and always trying to make the guest feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My family made a last minute stop over with the Best Western in Barstow this past July. We had great lodging, wonderful recommendation for local Mexican diner, trains running past the hotel, and awesome breakfast the next morning. The little shops inside had all sorts of "Route 66" merchandise, including a hat for our son. He's lived in that hat for 6 months. Last week it turned up missing, so I called the hotel and they sent me a new one just in time for Christmas. Patty & the GM are my new favorite Santa’s! Thank you so very much!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pankaj P, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad we were able to assist in making your son happy. Please visit us again next time your in Barstow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very pleasant stopover. Clean, good sized rooms, friendly staff. Great hot breakfast before heading off the next morning. Ear plugs provided should you have trouble sleeping due to the trains, however, I didn't hear one all night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Barstow
0.8 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#6 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#2 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn

Address: 1984 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Barstow
#6 Family Hotel in Barstow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is a moderately priced, pet friendly hotel conveniently located on Route 66 in quaint downtown Barstow, California. Offering all of the features and amenities that business and leisure travelers expect, the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is situated just minutes from the Amtrak station and only 71 miles from Ontario International Airport. Guests traveling to Barstow and through Barstow will all appreciate the friendly service and delightful accommodations provided by the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Hotel Barstow
Best Western Desert Hotel
Best Western Barstow
Barstow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing