We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A prostitute and her pimp were arguing about money outside my door at 1 AM” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1984 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A prostitute and her pimp were arguing about money outside my door at 1 AM”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

I love the BW Plus line. It is a stretch to label this one a Plus. The physical plant is really old but has been painted in recent years. The electrical outlets are old, dirty and worn. The little fridge in my room was warm inside and I had to store my diabetes medication, so I put ice in my little cooler and it was OK. This BW property will do OK as an "any place in a storm" motel to stay at. Big trains roared by in the night but I miraculously slept through them after 2 AM. If you want a Cannery Row experience for $75 a night, this is the place for you.

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We're sorry to hear that your refrigerator was not the proper temperature and we hope you reported this to the Front Desk so that it could be quickly resolved for you and future guests. As you mentioned, we are near railraod tracks but we do offer ear plugs for guests who are more sensitive to the noise. We're sorry that we did not meet your needs during your most recent stay and hope that you might give us another try in the future.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    179
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
135
166
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed for one night. Given that it's next to the freeway, the rooms were surprisingly quiet. Wifi worked well and is free. Bath towels were skimpy and a bit thin. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback. We're happy to hear that you found the room clean, comfortable, and quiet. As for the towels - we'll work on that. Thanks for your input!

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKINLEYVILLE
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I guess they got back at us! When we arrived, I first asked if the young-ish woman and young man in charge if they could do better on their rate of $99 before taxes/charges. I told them that we had not spent over $73 a night on our whole three week trip, including Las vegas($60 a night), Palm Springs($62), Scottsdale, AZ, etc. I stood there in front of them and said to my spouse, "That's insane for this town. It'll be at least $109 with everything added on!". So they offered $79. We took it. About an hour after unpacking everything, we start hearing banging and sawing noises right out side the room. after three more times, went out and asked two guys out there what they were doing. They grunted a non reply. Another half hour of drilling/sawing/banging. like it was right outside our room. Come to find out, they were renovating the room right next to ours!! at 9PM! and were continuing. and would be back 8AM the next morning!! We asked to move. So, 10PM, thinking i was going to have a restful early night ( I mean there's nothing here except a Photo Op of Rt. 66 signs), I had to pack everything back up and start all over in another room! and then in the light of day, we saw that we were near a major highway and a railroad track(with trains on it)neither of which bothered us so I guess they have good walls.

Room Tip: The next day, we spotted a few other hotels in town for around $45 a night advertised. I usually do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Travelers,

We're so sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. I must point out that Barstow has been a popular place lately due to the military activity at the nearby base and the average rate at all of the hotels is higher than you might normally see here. I do apologize for the late night construction that disturbed you. We realize that everyone has differnet sound sensitivity (ear plugs are provided for just this reason) but 9pm was, perhaps, too late to be making noise. Please accept my apologies for the disturbance and inconvenience. We hope that you might give us another try, but if not, please be advised that when staying at a hotel offering $45 rates, you will most assuredly get what you pay for.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Best Westerns are usually pretty good, but this one is at the far end of town in an especially lonesome turn in the road. Dislikes: Plenty of transients walking up and down the street, or hitchhiking at the freeway entrance (located 20 feet from entrance). For some reason when I was there a number of tattooed drunk locals were using the pool, making it their all-day party, throwing things and being belligerent to guests - it was actually frightening. Likes: Staff was great, things were very clean, breakfast adequate. Wish I'd stayed near the outlet mall though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Travler,

It pains us to read that we did not meet your expectationsduring your stay in Barstow. We always do our very best to provide clean, safe, and comfortable accomodations for our guests though we do realize that there are times we fall short. I noticed that your stay was last spring 2011. Since then, we have become a Best Western PLUS property, which means that we offer a few more room and hotel amenities than a typical Best Western and are a cut above the rest. In addition, we have been making improvements to both the interior decor and the exterior and have just recently upgraded our breakfast to include hot items like eggs and ham. We hope that you might consider trying us again on your next stop through Barstow and experience the difference for yourself. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hi, I am from Australia and like my Best Western's down under. I was not disappointed. Free Breakfast, Free Wifi, and most of all a FRIDGE. I travel with medications that need to be refrigerated and usually I only get an ice bucket. But, what about keeping the ice bricks frozen? So, a fridge with a freezer section was an amazing PLUS. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments. We're glad to hear that we offered all that you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer and had a pleasant stay here at the Best Western in Barstow. We hope you'll have the opportunity to come back and visit sometime soon!

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Desert Villa is located on the east end of Barstow, just beyond the mostly empty Barstow Mall (I remember when it was a busy place). The motel is sandwiched between I-40 and the railroad, which means it's not going to be real quite, but all the rooms face a central parking lot which reduces the noise somewhat.

The rooms have all the usual amenities, including fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The room I had also had a small seating area. The breakfast offered is average, but will tide you over until lunch.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is one of those Best Westerns that has not quite gotten all the upgrades done.

I had asked for an ADA approved room but was told upon arrival that the King sized room wasn't available. I had to take a Queen to remain downstairs. The Lobby is quite nice. The rooms-not so much. They are very dated. They are noisy, but not from the trains as much as the rowdy lodgers. The Comp Breakfast is a bit below what one normally finds. The breakfast room is on the small side and the cereal is decidedly "Great Value" as opposed to General Mills. The access is rather abrupt from the highway to say the least.

The staff does have a very good handle on the local restaurants! There is a very informative restaurant list with directions in the Lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs on the back side away from the road. Turn on the heat the minute you enter the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn

Address: 1984 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barstow
#6 Family Hotel in Barstow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is a moderately priced, pet friendly hotel conveniently located on Route 66 in quaint downtown Barstow, California. Offering all of the features and amenities that business and leisure travelers expect, the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn is situated just minutes from the Amtrak station and only 71 miles from Ontario International Airport. Guests traveling to Barstow and through Barstow will all appreciate the friendly service and delightful accommodations provided by the BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Desert Villa Hotel Barstow
Best Western Desert Hotel
Best Western Barstow
Barstow Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Desert Villa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.