We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room for a budget motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of America Best Value Inn - Barstow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added America Best Value Inn - Barstow to your Saves list
America Best Value Inn - Barstow
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1350 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice room for a budget motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had stayed at a number of other America's Best Value Inns before but never at this one in Barstow, CA. I was hoping it would measure up to the others and I wasn't disappointed. The room was quite large and appeared to be recently painted. It had a flat-screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, and a decently strong wi-fi signal. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast but it appeared to be rather spartan. I had minimal interaction with the staff but what there was, was OK. There was a little rainroad noise but it's to be expected since it's across the street from a sizable railroad operation I expect I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibarstow, General Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
14
13
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgehaven
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First impression should have told me what was to come. Every motel in the strip was full of cars, this had 3 in the lot. The reception desk was behind a plexiglass screen. The female staff member was disinterested and rude. They offer a free continental breakfast, more later. There is a window at chest height in the bathroom and the a/c blows straight into the vanity cavity and not the room meaning you freeze when you wash your hands and cook everywhere else. The bathroom looked dirty and worn. When the shower curtain was pulled across, the entire back was covered in mold. There was mold in the corners of the ceiling to match. The sheets were prickly and the pillow cases had cigarette burns in them. The sliding door led directly into the pool area which wasn't fenced nor did it have a screen. Went to do a load of washing but changed my mind when I lifted the lid and saw the inside of the machine was black(not it's natural color) The smoke detector didn't work and the light seemed to be home handyman fitted (badly). After a sleepless night of constant freight trains and concern for our safety we went to early breakfast. What did I expect, milk sitting in a jug at room temp bread in zip lock bags, very dry cereal and sweaty muffins. The staff member walked out of the office, looked at us and turned and went back into the office without acknowledging us. Fearing food poisoning we skipped breakfast and hit the road early. We have tried emailing America best value and were told to fill in a complaint form that you cannot access. I suppose that is one way to deal with problems, they don't have any. Thats it! NEVER AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Give this one a wide berth, almost anything else would be better, even the car
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibarstow, General Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the room. It seems since the minute you walk in you had a bad impression. The noise of the freight train is out of our control that is Santa Fe railroad. We would appreciate if you would have kindly came in the office to notify us, at that time we could have switch your room or gave you a refund. We reassure you we took care of the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North tustin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Barstow is a very small town great place to stay and relax. Minutes from great shopping at the outlets. Really enjoyed the large clean rooms and was very pleased of the laundry facility. Definitely recommend to a friend as well as staying there again. Clearly we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed here quite a few times over the last few years while traveling. The accommodation is always satisfactory for someone on a budget. Use a coupon from one of those motel coupon books and it is a good deal. The bed is clean and comfortable, there is a fridge, microwave, digital flat screen TV, good WIFI and other amenities such as phone, coffee maker, clock radio, hair drier and an ice machine in the laundry room. I have found it handy to patronize the nearby laundromat, car wash, retail stores and various restaurants. With the staff always being helpful and friendly, I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great for families we stayed in one of the largest rooms available. With our family we usually have to get 2 rooms at most hotels to accommodate all of us in order to have room for everyone and the abundance of luggage we bring, but at this hotel we were able to get only one room. The staff was able to recommend a good place to eat with reasonable prices. Clean rooms and great staff makes for a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Large families or multiple adults ask for the room with 3 double beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable room at a very reasonable rate, this is the place to choose. It is located in an older part of town, but you will find easy freeway access, and easy walking to some local eateries. The front desk person was very friendly efen going that extra step to find me an iron for morning. Try it, you will be treated very nicely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked in for one night and ended up staying for three because the motel had everything we needed and more. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. Internet was good. Restaurant next door was vey handy and had very good food and extremely low prices - check out Prime Rib on Fridays and Saturdays.
Would would we stay here again - yes - without hesitation.

Room Tip: Sliding door of pool was an unexpected bonus for the price of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America Best Value Inn - Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America Best Value Inn - Barstow

Address: 1350 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America Best Value Inn - Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your America Best Value Inn - Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America Best Value Inn - Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.