We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best managers I ever met” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Barstow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Barstow to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Barstow
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1261 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best managers I ever met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not only is this hotel clean and cheap, but Roger, the manager, is also incredibly friendly and helping. We only spent a night here, and it was not far from perfect: clean room, good bed, Roger even made our breakfast. We now know where to stay when in Barstow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    111
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
86
142
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great place! Room is nice equipped with refrigerator, microwave and very comfortable beds! Attention is top of the line since you put your feet in the office! Has full breakfast including donuts waffles and Nutella!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I needed to spend the night in Barstow and looked for the Rodeway Inn based on the reviews that I had previously read. Arrived around 8pm and was greeted warmly by the owner, Roger and his daughter. I requested an upstairs room and Roger gladly accommodated. Roger also recommended a great place to grab a nite cap. In the morning Roger had a great breakfast spread, including his famous fresh blueberry waffles, that he gladly makes for his guests. It is very apparent that Roger and his family take great pride in creating a very pleasant atmosphere for their guests. The rooms are very clean and quiet, and the gym is better than most hotels that charge twice as much. After having a leisurely breakfast that was filled with good conversation, I thanked Roger for the nice stay that I had and let him know that I would tell everyone about the great service that he provides to all of his guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Barely checked in and we think this is possibly the best place we have stayed at in the last eight days of wandering around the United States. Wonderfully helpful girl (daughter of the owner?) checked us in and the owner chatted with us and answered all our questions. The room is simple, clean and has the added touches of the folded towels that look like elephants and extra vanity products as well. Just seems that they really care about the comfort of the guests.

Room Tip: got a room with a king bed on the ground floor....that's what we wanted so we were happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We pick this motel from previous reviews and were entirely satisfied after 10 hours drive with two kids. At one in the morning the owner was nice to give us the room key for a good night sleep. The breakfast in the morning is simple, efficient for our european taste. Thank you Roger!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The manager of this hotel is great...really likes to help people. He even will make you breakfast. Nice clean room, very creative towel folding, interestingly original blankets, lots of extras (toothpaste can you believe it), an amazing breakfast.

The internet is spotty though so plan accordingly. Otherwise this is an Oasis in Barstow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked a 2-queen room for my family of 4 based on the online comments. The property is about a mile up at the top of the hill off of Interstate 40/15. I am in the hospitality industry so I know how hard it is to keep a room really, really clean. When the bathroom vent intake is clean, you are in a clean room. Towels were fresh, room was spotless and the beds were comfortable. The rooms are a bit smaller than average but the little decorative touches are welcome. Did I mention the room was clean? Finally, Roger and his family who run the place know how to make you feel at home. He is there to prep and assist with one of the most extensive breakfasts I have ever seen in a hotel/motel. We had fresh blueberry waffles prepped for us, the coffee was great, the tables were clean and all in all it was a great way to finish off our quick one night visit. Give this place a try and you will not be disappointed. Thanks Roger.

Room Tip: My parents stayed here too and both rooms looked great. We were upstairs and they were downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Barstow

Address: 1261 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#4 Business Hotel in Barstow
#4 Family Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barstow Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.