We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a nice place and a real bargain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Barstow

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Barstow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Barstow
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1261 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
El Cajon, CA, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is a nice place and a real bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on 13 Aug 2011. We were in Barstow to attend an all day function just outside of town and we did not want to drive the 3 hours late at night that would be required to return home the same day.

The hotel is clean, quiet, bargain priced and the beds are comfortable. While the rooms are small, they are adequate, and we were not going to stay several days, The air conditioner in the room was rather loud and of course ran regularly, because it is summer in the desert. I finally turned the thermostat up to a higher (78 degrees), but still comfortable temperature and the air conditioner didn't cycle so often.

The included breakfast was nice. It was nothing fancy, waffles cooked on order (not toaster waffles), a selection of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, etc.. Cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast and rolls were available also.

All things considered, a nice place for a nights rest at an affordable price. The manager and his wife are friendly and want to please their guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    109
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
85
138
30
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

The room was wide and clean. The breakfast was very good and with great variety of choices. The owners were very nice and careful. It's a very good choice for an intermediate stop on the way to nevada or arizona, although the city of Barstow has little to offer. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here with my Choice-points. Nikki was so nice and helpfull to book my reward when i already was in the hotel. It was the cleanest place i stayed during this trip. Breakfast was excellent. Next time in Barstow i know where to go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Az
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderfully clean and well appointed room with free wifi and a hot breakfast prepared by a warm and friendly host, Roger. the customer service and hospitality was fabulous, like the best of family. I will always stay here when traveling through Barstow. Great stay! Gregory C. Du Bois

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

If you are ever in Barstow, make sure you stay at Rodeway Inn, I beliieve it is one of the better Rodeway Inn's I have ever stayed at. The rooms were beautifully decorated, homey, and comfortable. The bed was so comfortable. The view of the moon and palm tree from our room was so relaxing. The owners were so friendly and helpful. I will give this place and A++++++ rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in the Rodeway Inn after reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. While I agree with other reviewers that it is a decent, clean, reliable motel for a reasonable price I spent a really bad night here because the air con in our room was so noisy. As the temperatures were high in July we couldn´t really go without it but it certainly was the loudest aircon I experienced on our trip to the US. So for those with light sleep this is a warning, for the rest: it is a good motel with very friendly staff. The only other complaint: when we were late for breakfast (5 minutes!!) we were sent away, we found that rather disappointing considering this is such a small place and staff (and food) was still around.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had been traveling for a whole week visiting national parks in the Grand circle (Utah canyons) and wanted to break journey before driving back to San Jose, CA. We chose this inn after reading reviews here and since it was half way back, and were not disappointed. The room was very comfortable and well appointed for a one night stay, with coffee maker, microwave, micro-refrigerator and hair dryer. The bed was also very comfortable. After spending 7 nights in different hotels, where we could feel the springs in the mattress and waking up tired after a night's rest, this place felt almost like home. In the morning, we were greeted by the owner personally when we went for breakfast (free continental). He gave every guest individual attention, even to the extent of making them waffles, getting napkins, juice, etc. There was also more choice of food items than what we had seen before. For being a budget hotel, the owners made us feel very special. This is also a pet friendly hotel from what we saw even though we didn't have a pet of our own. That didnt bother us and in fact gave the whole experience a homely touch.

If I could give them more than 5 stars, I would. And if ever I have to journey that way again, I will definitely try and stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Barstow

Address: 1261 East Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barstow
#4 Family Hotel in Barstow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Barstow 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barstow Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.