We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we were looking for and more...:-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barstow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Barstow to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Barstow
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Lenwood Road, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Everything we were looking for and more...:-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

We decided to go to Disneyland for President's Day weekend and spend a day or two in Vegas. After having a horrible stay at the Comfort Inn Maingate Anaheim (see review) we decided not to spend another night in Anaheim and just be on our way to Vegas after we left Disneyland at about 10:30 pm. I knew the drive was not that long so I thought I could do it. Unfortunately, I forgot I had to abruptly leave our hotel above at 6:30am and then was at DL all day so I was more tired than I thought. As I was driving, my eyes were getting a little wobbly so I decided to pull over and just get a room and finish the drive in the morning. After passing a few low budget hotels, I saw the Holiday Inn Express and Suites from the freeway. Pulled in and boy was it freezing when I got out the car. The girl at the desk 1st told me one price and I said, that is too high so she lowered to a great rate (whoo hoo!). After checking in, she told me there was juice and cookies and to help myself. Everything was so clean, warm and nice (I am use to this but not in the desert on the way to Vegas lol). I woke up my son and he was happy, of course, to see warm chocolate cookies and juice waiting for him. When we entered our room, we were excited to find a wonderful decorated room with a very nice size bathroom. We had a view of the pool which looked very inviting but the weather? Anyway, while looking out the window, I noticed the outlet mall next to the hotel and all I could think was "charge" - whoo hoo!

We had a wonderful well deserved night sleep because the beds were super great. We headed down to breakfast to find they had a great selection of FRESH breakfast items, hot and cold, and ready to eat (bacon, eggs, potatoes, toast, muffins, donuts, cereal, fruit, juice, sausage patties, etc yummy yummy yummy). This was much better than dennys or ihop and for free (no extra resort charges, etc). We went back to our room and while getting dressed, noticed I lost my toothbrush, called down and they brought us several up with no questions. We got dressed and I was sure to fill out a "how did we do" card before departure. Whenever we are in the area again, I will definitely stay here and recommend to others.

Thank you for the pleasant stay :-)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    84
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
68
65
12
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

We had to go for a few days to Fort Irwin, and after reading reviews on Tripadvisor of the options nearby available, we went with this hotel.

A little bit further out the way, but oh yeah, well worth it !! it was nice, clean & modern. I had to walk outside to make sure it didn't say "mariott" or something on the front. Recently I've been impressed with the various Holiday inn Express' that we've stayed (the other one being in Glendora/Asuza). We've stayed on dozens of hotels (including W's, mariotts, Hyatts etc.,) and this one ranks right there up with it if you're after a hotel with a great place to sleep, and don't care that there's no fancy $10/drink bar etc.

  • Liked — modern, clean, comfy environment and bed
  • Disliked — bit out of the way of the "main" town
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Clean and OK, but:

The room was tiny, REALLY tiny. Not wheelchair accessable and two of us were sharing a room and constantly bumping into each other, very odd room design.

Very expensive for that type of hotel in that area, I mean about 50% high.

Poor location. Hint: In Barstow you want to be away from the train track because the noise is continuous and annoying. Any hotel on main street will have this problem.

  • Liked — Clean and basic
  • Disliked — price and location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

We have stayed at many HI Exp. properties throughout the US, and this one is the best. Anyone who has written a negative review is definitely confusing it with the older property, which is not next to the outlet mall as this one is.

The property is still new, and is sparkling clean. There is a business center with two free computers. The pool area is lovely, and the exercise room equipment, though just cardiac type equipment, is excellent. The rooms are very nice, and the breakfast is also excellent. Very "yummy" cookies, fruit, and beverages are available in the breakfast room throughout the day and evening. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed here two nights, one our our way to Vegas, and one on our way back, and both times the experience was excellent.

We used points, and the August dates were only 5,000 pts. per night insead of the usual 25,000. When I booked, I noticed that dates through Sept. were also at this unusually low point level of 5,000 pts, so that is certainly something to take advantage of. I suspect it is because it is so hot in Barstow these dates.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

I just spent a week at the Holiday Inn Express in Barstow. I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean and the staff of locals could not have been more hospitable. There was free high-speed Internet access in the rooms and a modest, but nice, free hot breakfast buffet in the morning. I'd stay here again and would recommend it to friends. As an added bonus, a new Chili's Restaurant just opened nearby.

  • Liked — Cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Adjacent to Outlet Mall with busloads of Las Vegas-bound tourists.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

In common with, I would guess, at least 50% of the guests at hotels in this town, we stayed for an overnight stop on the way from LA to Las Vegas. We are a family of four and needed somewhere clean, comfortable and not too pricey, preferably with a pool and the HI Express fitted the bill perfectly.

I am surprised that anyone describes this place as pricey. We paid $130 for a large room with two double beds, flat screen TV, clean, modern furniture, a good sized bathroom, free wireless internet, excellent breakfast, free parking, a fitness centre and a large pool. Great value for money in my opinion. Furthermore, we heard no noise at all either from the freeway or railway. There are large spaces for overnight truck and recreational vehicle parking, but these are over the other side of the outlet stores and didn't affect us at all.

Don't confuse this hotel with the other Holiday Inn located in Barstow town itself, about ten minutes drive up the freeway. This hotel is located next to a shopping outlet and adjacent to the very similar Hampton Inn and Suites just off the freeway south of Barstow. There are also plenty of fast food restaurants close by so we didn't need to go into Barstow town itself.

The fitness centre is small but the pool area reasonably large. There's a jacuzzi as well and we used all these facilities. As with all HI Expresses, this is not a "Full Service" hotel but the front desk staff were excellent and the lady who replenished the buffet breakfast was friendly and efficient.

The only small issue was that there was nowhere really where we could sit out and enjoy the desert sunset, we watched this beautiful spectacle from our room window. If they built a small bar and patio in front of the hotel, or if the rooms had balconies, we may well have stayed more than one night. Sitting by the pool with a good book, shopping at the outlet stores, taking a trip into Barstow and the nearby Calico Ghost town and enjoying the sunsets would be a great way of spending a couple of days, especially at this price.

  • Liked — Value for maney
  • Disliked — Very little, see review
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We were on route between San Fran and San Diego and needed to stop and we had been given a pointer from a travel book, but when we pulled up we decided to pull out. We then headed straight for the holiday inn, blow the expense. Expense indeed, it is a little pricey me thinks for the location. Barstow ain't pretty (sorry to you guys that live there). The holiday inn was clean, friendly and efficient. The breakfast was lovely and they had internet access. It was a little noisy though, as our room had the clank of slow moving cargo trains all night. Good for a stopover, but seriously needs a price readjustment.

  • Liked — comfortable
  • Disliked — pricey
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Barstow
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#2 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#7 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
5.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barstow

Address: 2700 Lenwood Road, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Family Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barstow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Barstow is located at Interstate 15 and Lenwood Road, we are adjacent to over 100 Outlet Stores at the Tanger Outlet Center and Factory Merchants Barstow. The National Training Center/Ft. Irwin and the USMC Logistics Base are nearby or enjoy our area attractions such as Calico Ghost Town, Goldstone Deep Space Tracking Station, Route 66 Museum, Mojave River Museum or the Western Railroad Museum. See natures beauty come alive at Rainbow Basin, Calico Early Man Sight and Mojave National Preserve. Whatever your reason for visiting the High Desert, treat yourself to the best Barstow has to offer! 2004 Newcomer of the Year Award Winner! 2005 Torchbearer Award Winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.