We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad bit pricy but, a clean, comfortable and great place to stay especially if you are traveling by motorcycle...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barstow

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Barstow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barstow
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Lenwood Road, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Barstow
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A tad bit pricy but, a clean, comfortable and great place to stay especially if you are traveling by motorcycle...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I ended up using my rewards points to stay at this hotel and after a 660 mile motorcycle ride the big green sign was a welcome sight.

The front desk staff upgraded me to a king jacuzzi suite (which I loved) and I found the room a welcome departure from a lot of the H.I properties I've stayed at as of late. The fridge and microwave were a welcome addition as was the pillow soft bedding.

Breakfast was typical hotel fair but damned good and the coffee hot and fresh. I have absolutely no complaints with this hotel and have no problems recommending it to those traveling by motorcycle.

I was allowed to park my bike right out front under the cover where it was under The watchful eye of the staff all night. Major kudos for that.!!!!!! That right there is a huge selling point for riders. Thanks again and I will be back.!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    62
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
42
49
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. I didn't like the price but it was definitely worth it. I had a king size bed and jacuzzi. There's an outside pool and a small gym. The breakfast was very good....eggs, bacon, sausage pattie, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, yogurt, bagels, toast, muffins, etc. Wi-fi was excellent. Location is great. Right off of I-15 next to Tanger Outlets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a one night stop here on our way to LA and we only expected an average-chain-hotel stopover. However, the welcome was warm and effecient, the room was large and clean. We asked for a roll-away and more towels and they were brought-up immediately. WiFi was great and all the staff were pleaseant and polite, even those laying the new coridoor carpets.

They served free cheese and biscuits, natchos and nibbles in the evening and then a fantasic hot and cold breakfast. This hotel is the last on a strip of hotel and so you eat your breakfast looking straight out over the desert. You get a beautiful sunset also. The pool is great for a midnight swim or hot-tub and shopping at the Retail Park is right next door.

There is a plethera of resturants on the same road, to cater for all tastes and you hop right on the Interstate to escape.

In the UK the stay we enjoyed would rate nearly 5 stars; they delievr more than a chain-hotel experience. For the money, one our of best stays in the US - well done Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I loved this place. The staff was super nice. The breakfast was good. The room was clean, and the pool was open. However, even though pets are accepted, there really wasn't any grassy area for them to go. Just rocks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stay here en route from Southwest to San Francisco. A little pricey, but very safe (in Lynwood off I-15). New, very clean, very, very comfortable, upscale and away from the main town, great restaurants nearby. Accommodated us for room with parking below to watch car because of windsurf boards on roof. Next to upscale Tanger Outlet stores, so get there a little early to do great shopping! Very nice, well-mannered staff, great hot breakfast in the morning! Will stay here again! Am little concerned casino to be built in huge desert field next to motel, am hoping place will not get crowded or crime-ridden. Hotel parking lot very well-lit, is on outskirts of town, very safe, enjoy staying there! So far, the best bet for your dollar if you need to stay in Barstow.

Room Tip: Make a reservation on-line; can fill quickly due to location and high quality of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stay at this hotel often for business. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, fairly good sized and well stocked with towels and extra bedding should you need it. The parking lot is well lit, I often come in very late at night and I feel safe walking in alone. This is a popular hotel for people working on Fort Irwin and they have a great government rate.

When you arrive they offer you a bottle of cold water, free popcorn for your room and there is always cold juice in the breakfast room. In the afternoons and evenings there are fresh cookies which they keep well stocked. The breakfast room is big and the breakfast is well stocked.

The location has easy access to I15, plenty of restaurants and fast food, and shopping at the outlet center all within walking distance. The pool area is big and has plenty of chairs and tables and lounges, and the pool is very clean. The fitness room is kind of small, but has relatively new equipment and I've never had to wait to use a machine.

I have noticed the smoke smell in the hallways, but not too much in the rooms. The hotel is nice enough that sometimes my husband will drive up to just to spend the night while I'm there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

When we stayed: one weekend night, July

Location: right off of the highway, next to the outlets.

Check-in: we were warmly greeted and had a prompt check-in.

Customer service: we were upgraded to a king suite, which was nice. They asked for my ID and credit card as I checked in, but still managed to check me in under a completely different person. He quickly corrected the mistake, when I pointed out that I was not this person.

Rooms: King room, couch for two, small fridge and microwave.

TV: flat screen . . . 32inches? All the standard channels were there.

Amenities: small gym, which I didn't use. Pool, which I also didn't use. Breakfast area, which was nice: biscuit/gravy, bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, cereal, fruit, milk, juice, tea, coffee, pastries, bread/bagels. They have some travel sizes of toothpaste/etc if you forget.

Parking: plenty of parking was available.

Bathroom: separate shower and soaking tub. Single sink. Plenty of towels and shampoo/conditioner/soap.

Smell: this hotel does have smoking and non-smoking rooms on the premises. I'm not sure how they separate them (smoking one one wing, non-smoking on the other wing), but you'll be able to smell the smoke in the hallways. I couldn't really tell in the rooms, so it didn't bother me. If you are having a longer trip and you are extremely sensitive to the smell of smoke, then weigh your option carefully.

Bottom line: If you need a place to stay for a night or two and you want to build up your Priority Club status, then this hotel will do the trick. If you have a longer stay and have issues with the smell of smoke, there may be other options.

Room Tip: non-smoking part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barstow

Address: 2700 Lenwood Road, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barstow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#6 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barstow 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Barstow is located at Interstate 15 and Lenwood Road, we are adjacent to over 100 Outlet Stores at the Tanger Outlet Center and Factory Merchants Barstow. The National Training Center/Ft. Irwin and the USMC Logistics Base are nearby or enjoy our area attractions such as Calico Ghost Town, Goldstone Deep Space Tracking Station, Route 66 Museum, Mojave River Museum or the Western Railroad Museum. See natures beauty come alive at Rainbow Basin, Calico Early Man Sight and Mojave National Preserve. Whatever your reason for visiting the High Desert, treat yourself to the best Barstow has to offer! 2004 Newcomer of the Year Award Winner! 2005 Torchbearer Award Winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barstow Hotel Barstow
Holiday Inn Barstow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Barstow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.