We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here on our way through to the coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66 Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Route 66 Motel to your Saves list
Route 66 Motel
195 W Main St, Barstow, CA 92311   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stayed here on our way through to the coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nicely positioned on the route back from the Grand Canyon to the west coast this motel is an ideal overnight stop if you just want to make the most of your time. Rooms are basic but very cheap, aircon is next to the bed so if it's really hot you might need to choose between the heat or the noise. Staff very friendly and helpful even late at night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
40
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised. Super friendly and helpful gentleman checked me in and gave me lots of information about the area. Really clean room, tons of hot water and a great price. I'm not a big fan of the round beds, but the bed was comfortable. Lots of TV stations. The grounds are beautiful and clean with lots of fun stuff to look at. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Route 66 Motel on our drive from LA to Las Vegas, and wished we had stayed another 2 or 3 days. Veda and Mridu Shandil are great hosts, they have a vast knowledge of the area so can advise on places to see, distances, restaurants, anything you want they can tell you. Contrary to what we had read and heard, there is a lot to see in Barstow and the surrounding area all within easy driving distance. If you want shopping there is a large shopping mall within couple miles, a drive in cinema which unfortunately we didn't get time to go to, plenty of eating places, and Calico Ghost Town an easy drive - approx 15 miles down the road. If you are a railway buff don't miss the station which looks like a huge hacienda, lots of tracks and the museum. Our room at the motel had all we needed and Veda gave us a coffee machine for our morning Tea! We had the round bed which was a novel idea but soooo comfortable, plenty of towels, and room was very quiet. Outside there is a collection of vintage cars of all shapes and sizes, some requiring talc but guess they add to the atmosphere of this unique motel on Route 66 . We will most definitely stay here again on our next road trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

On our second trip of Route 66, we booked a 1 night stop in Barstow as we did not stay in this town before. The motel itself was well maintained, grounds were well kept, and on entering the room, found it was clean, spacious and adequate.
The owner was hospitable and polite and fulfilled our special request.
I would thoroughly recommend this Motel as there are so many 'chain' hotels now that Route 66 is seeing a revival, please continue to support this family run nostalgic Route 66 motel instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our room was not very clean at all and very outdated. The outside is neat and the price cheap. A fine place to stay, but don't expect too much from the room. The staff was especially nice, extending our checkout and staying up late for us.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 1 night here on honeymoon along route 66. The nostalgia of this place outweighs the actual room i think. Its a little one level motel on route 66 with old cars setup with gas pumps which my partner loved as he is into cars. The owners have had this place for 30 years and helped set up the museum too. You can feel the love they have put into it. The rooms are clean but very basic. Its quiet and satisfactory for a 1 night stay. We had a round bed which was pretty funny and gave us a laugh. Fridge in room and Wifi was good. Barstow is a bit of a weird little town but it served us well on our stopover for one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this motel on our road trip. We liked the classic feel of the place - when you arrive, there are dioramas of the 1960s, such as garages with old cars to explore. The room was clean and the area was quiet. If you're looking for a fun Route 66 experience, this would be a great place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Route 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Motel

Address: 195 W Main St, Barstow, CA 92311
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Famous Route 66 Classic Motel in the heart of Barstow, California.San Bernardino County's Route 66 motel offer a glimpse into the past.This undiscovered World-Famous Route 66 Classic sits in the heart of Barstow. The only renovated motel to have antique cars to photograph and 'round beds' for a quiet night sleep. Offering great room rates and clean, comfortable rooms. "10 great places to stop along the way (Route 66)" - USA TODAY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Route 66 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Route 66 Hotel Barstow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.