We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Retro Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive-in

Skyline Drive-in
31175 Old Highway 58, Barstow, CA
(760) 256-3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Barstow
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Retro Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was an awesome retro experience. We stopped in Barstow on our way to LA with our 13 year old and she got the opportunity to experience a great blast from the past, including old fashioned concession clips, a young man working concession wearing a red bowtie just like the old "soda jerks." The sound was great - came in through FM radio channels. Someone else commented on the driving lights that couldn't be turned off when running the radio, but while there I saw that the concession stand had a shelf full of battery powered stereo radios so it appears they've made provision for that issue. With two different screens, the primary screen included a new top rated release and a second recently released popular feature. The other screen included another currently running feature film more targeted to PG audiences. It was an excellent experience and with so few drive ins left, one I would highly recommend to anyone traveling in the area. Remember to bring blankets and pillows to snuggle during the features!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience even though it broke down!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we loved the idea of going to a drive in movie. We don't have them at home in the UK so when I found it on the internet we had to go!
The experience was great and the price of $6 per person for 2 films was excellent. Unfortunately they only had 1 hot dog bun left (odd for a movie theater) and the projector broke down just at the end of the second movie. We were given another ticket to use on another day even though we were just passing through! You never know I suppose!
The problems didn't change our opinion that this is a must do activity in Barstow!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We (as Europeans) loved to try an American drive-in. People were friendly, food and drinks okay (although different choices to make than back at home), not too many people to watch the movie - it was hot though in Barstow in August. Eitherway, great experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Fun and different experience:-) chep entry tickets and friendly staff. Good popcorn too!

Not too far fram Barstow, nice to see fireflies and watch the stars

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Drive in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely old fashioned drive in saw the latest film for $6, had nice ice cream.

Went to the 8pm film very few people there. Hope they get more customers or they will close down. That would be a shame.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive-in also viewed

Barstow, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 
Barstow, California Desert
 

Been to Skyline Drive-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Drive-in, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.