We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel run by lovely people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramon Llull 1 | Ramón Llull,1, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel run by lovely people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here with our two young daughters for 9 nights in Aug 13. Miguel and the team made us so welcome at the hotel and couldn't do enough to make our stay wonderful. It is a great base to explore the area and the restaurant is terrific and very popular with the locals. If you want an affordable family friendly hotel that retains it's boutique specialness, then Mas Galena is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    62
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
205
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading all of the very positive reviews. We got a warm welcome and the hotel reception seemed nice. The room, however, was not quite up to the price we paid.
The room has no safe. There is a small mini bar, but no glasses. We asked for these, however they would not wash them each day and just left them dirty on the side. We had no new toiletries each day either.
On the first night we wen for a drink on the terrace.We were told that we could not as they did not have a spare table ( there were only 2 people out there).The breakfast was nice and the owners really helpful. The rooms need a little TLC and the little extras need working on.
We paid about £130 a night. This was cheap in comparison to other quotes for this hotel. I have stayed in much nicer places for less than this. A shame as it has the potential to be much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaMasComangau, Gerente at Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your information, which is very important to us, it helps us to improve our service.
The hotel has a central safe for guests in the main house.
The first night, the tables on the Restaurant terrace , were reserved for dinner.
Usually when the terrace of the Restaurant is booked, there is the option of the second summer terrace for dinner or to have a drink.( bookings also are possible for meals at this terrace).
I am sorry you left disappointed our house. I´m sure your information will help to avoid similar situations.
Thank you and best regards.
Joana López
Gerent Galena MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for two nights in July. Old family farm house(es) with old materials kept and brought up to really modern standard. The owner was very present, very friendly, helpful and his hart and pride made the stay something to remember. Very nice room in a separate house (originally tools "shed") with large terrace. Splendid view from dining/breakfast area and home made breakfast. Not in the centre of Begur, but a pleasant 5 min walk gives no parking problems. If ever back in the area we will revisit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked this hotel at short notice for part of our honeymoon and were very lucky to find such a charming place to stay. This old traditional farmhouse has been converted with a great attention to detail. We stayed in one of the converted outbuildings which featured internal stone walls, stone shower room and a decent sized decked terrace. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner over a few days at the hotel. All meals were to a high standard with the dinner in particular being to a gourmet standard. All staff were friendly and helpful and the English speaking owner was particularly helpful and a pleasure to deal with. This was not a inexpensive place to say but I would consider the standard of service and quality of food provided make it ideal for a special stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Several weeks ago now, my husband and I were staying with 5 other friends in a lovely villa in Begur. We were able to walk to this restaurant (all be it uphill). We had booked earlier in the day and the circular table was all prepared for our arrival. The staff were very friendly and obliging. My meal was memorable. Goats cheese salad to start, duck and figs for mains and the pineapple cannelloni to finish. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My and Husband and I recently spent a lovely week at the hotel. Our room was spacious and very clean and the terrace attached to our room was a lovely place to sit out and enjoy the evening sunshine. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty and the lady who I believe makes some of the cakes was very enthusiastic about me trying them. I have to say I'm glad I followed her advice and gave them a taste as they were truly delicious.

The staff were one of the many highlights of this hotel along with the owner Miguel, who was accommodating and made us feel incredibly welcomed. He was more than happy to provide advice about the area. We also ate at the onsite restaurant, which was also lovely. The views from the terrace were beautiful.

We will certainly return to this hotel again in the future and hopefully take our family back too.

Room Tip: Room number 1 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxwood
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We thought that Catalonia in Mid-May would be nice and warm and sunny, but apparently they are having just as unusual a spring as here in England. Nevertheless our stay at the Galena was really great - the owner was so friendly and helpful (and spoke excellent English amongst many other languages) and gave excellent advice on where we should visit.
We ate in their restaurant twice and both times the food was excellent and the service friendly but efficient and the breakfast feast (called a buffet) was wonderful.
Our room had a terrace which was lovely on the days that we spent walking - just right for a relaxing glass of wine while the legs recovered.
Begur itself was only a short 5 minute walk away and there were a lot of very good restaurants to choose from in all price ranges.
All in all an excellent choice and we'll certainly try and get there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Address: Ramon Llull 1 | Ramón Llull,1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#4 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the village of Begur in the heart of Costa Brava is Galena Mas Comangau Hotel-Restaurant.. A converted catalan Farmhouse dating from the 18th Century.Our Hotel located in a peaceful area of Begur, five minutes walking from the city center, and very close to the best beaches and golf courses in Costa Brava ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galena Mas Comangau Begur
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.