We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome awaits!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramon Llull 1 | Ramón Llull,1, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Begur
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome awaits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked this hotel at short notice for part of our honeymoon and were very lucky to find such a charming place to stay. This old traditional farmhouse has been converted with a great attention to detail. We stayed in one of the converted outbuildings which featured internal stone walls, stone shower room and a decent sized decked terrace. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner over a few days at the hotel. All meals were to a high standard with the dinner in particular being to a gourmet standard. All staff were friendly and helpful and the English speaking owner was particularly helpful and a pleasure to deal with. This was not a inexpensive place to say but I would consider the standard of service and quality of food provided make it ideal for a special stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    44
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
159
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Several weeks ago now, my husband and I were staying with 5 other friends in a lovely villa in Begur. We were able to walk to this restaurant (all be it uphill). We had booked earlier in the day and the circular table was all prepared for our arrival. The staff were very friendly and obliging. My meal was memorable. Goats cheese salad to start, duck and figs for mains and the pineapple cannelloni to finish. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My and Husband and I recently spent a lovely week at the hotel. Our room was spacious and very clean and the terrace attached to our room was a lovely place to sit out and enjoy the evening sunshine. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty and the lady who I believe makes some of the cakes was very enthusiastic about me trying them. I have to say I'm glad I followed her advice and gave them a taste as they were truly delicious.

The staff were one of the many highlights of this hotel along with the owner Miguel, who was accommodating and made us feel incredibly welcomed. He was more than happy to provide advice about the area. We also ate at the onsite restaurant, which was also lovely. The views from the terrace were beautiful.

We will certainly return to this hotel again in the future and hopefully take our family back too.

Room Tip: Room number 1 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxwood
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We thought that Catalonia in Mid-May would be nice and warm and sunny, but apparently they are having just as unusual a spring as here in England. Nevertheless our stay at the Galena was really great - the owner was so friendly and helpful (and spoke excellent English amongst many other languages) and gave excellent advice on where we should visit.
We ate in their restaurant twice and both times the food was excellent and the service friendly but efficient and the breakfast feast (called a buffet) was wonderful.
Our room had a terrace which was lovely on the days that we spent walking - just right for a relaxing glass of wine while the legs recovered.
Begur itself was only a short 5 minute walk away and there were a lot of very good restaurants to choose from in all price ranges.
All in all an excellent choice and we'll certainly try and get there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begur, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had dinner in this restaurant, and the beef is just so fantastic. The beef tastes wonderful and is really tender; it is sourced especially for the Chuleton, and it is world class. The rest of the menu is always very good. The staff are welcoming and friendly and very efficient. The proprietor is professional and a great chap. We go to this restaurant regularly and are never disappointed. highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very helpful and fun staff. The food was delicious and the atmosphere pleasant. Local wine went well with the cuisine. I could reccommend this place to others.200 characters is just too long for a review @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#@@@@#00000000000000000000&&&&*********77777833333333444444455//^$$$$$$////$$'######$$$$$$$$$-@@##!!!!!!!!!!@@222222323333333444444.



































  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friend & I loved our stay at Mas Galena, a very special place.....only hope to be fortunate enough to return some day!! Miguel & his staff are very welcoming & provided fantastic service. We returned to our room on the final night to find the staff had left a breakfast tray with coffee, pastries, etc...knowing we had a very early morning departure! And I must mention the food.....fantastic!! If you're looking for a smaller, more personalized, unique place to stay (not a hotel chain), don't hesitate...book your stayat Mas Galena!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau

Also Known As:
Galena Mas Comangau Begur
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Address: Ramon Llull 1 | Ramón Llull,1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#2 Family Hotel in Begur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the village of Begur in the heart of Costa Brava is Galena Mas Comangau Hotel-Restaurant.. A converted catalan Farmhouse dating from the 18th Century.Our Hotel located in a peaceful area of Begur, five minutes walking from the city center, and very close to the best beaches and golf courses in Costa Brava ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.