We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rosa to your Saves list
Hotel Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Burscough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed four nights on a walking holiday with Walks in Spain. It was included in our all inclusive holiday so I don't know the costs of the hotel. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the English speaking staff. When we had trouble with the shower fan they had someone there inside an hour. The restaurant is fabulous and breakfast is served there also. It's in a great spot on a good street of bars and restaurants.
Begur is a lovely little town with everything within walking distance. The pizza place on the stairs has great food at great prices and even when busy the service is quick as they are so organised.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

...Had the most amazing stay twice now at Hotel Rosa in the beautiful historic village of Begur. I stayed in a beautiful room with a private terrace for 7 nights and second trip, a double standard room. Both experiences were fantastic. There is a huge roof terrace available to all, which is empty most of the time so you can sunbathe in private alone if you so wish! The service is simply outstanding. The restaurant affiliated with the hotel opposite where you have breakfast is incredible- organic, locally produced and grown food. delicious, huge choice from cold meats like organic chorizo and others, to hot food, fresh fruit, organic desserts, cereals etc etc... the list goes on.. I can't speak highly enough of this place. Coming back soon! Thank you Sonia and Pilar especially who made me feel so at home, and even gave me small chocolates on departure, and helped me with anything I needed during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is my third review of Hotel Rosa, and follows our fourth visit. In general my wife and I don't go back to places, hotels and B&Bs, much preferring. to explore pastures new. For Begur and the Rosa we make an exception, because we like both so much.

Other reviewers, and my own previous reviews, have given all the detail there is to give about the hotel, its wonderful people and its super breakfasts. All I can really add is that in our experience over five years their standards have never dropped. That's a real tribute to the hotel's management, and it's the reason we go on visiting this consistently great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is in the centre of town and also owns a very good restaurant right across the (narrow) street. Begur is a lovely town and the staff at Hotel Begur were very helpful. The rooms are 'compact' but you are unlikely to be spending much time in them if the weather is as good as it usually is in this region - a recommended small hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel also has a spa centre which I did not use personally but others in our party gave very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
living in Surrey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rosa for 2 nights in mid-September on a pre-booked self-guided walking holiday. This family owned hotel with its Michelin-guide restaurant (the owner is the chef) a couple of metres away across the narrow street made a real change from the standard corporate concrete box hotels. We had a spacious and comfortable room in the accommodation annex to the rear of the street-facing reception area. It had that welcome rarity, a 2 person sofa and coffee table in a clearly separate space for chilling out and watching TV. There was a pair of Juliet balconies looing west out over the back streets and roofs to the local hills, a TV/games room in the basement and a sun-deck on the roof (with a lift if you cannot manage the stairs). The food and service in the restaurant were excellent both at dinner and breakfast - the staff were friendly and cheerful. The only drawback, and it sadly applies widely in hotels in continental Europe, was the lack of a hospitality tray in the room. But being forewarned of this, and as English people in need of properly hot tea after a hard day's walking, we had brought our own equipment. Hotel Rosa is centrally located about 100m from Begur's main town square, and if you want to get the feel of life in an old Catalonian hill town you really should go there. One of the best we have stayed at. (We came in and went out on foot, but at least one other review has mentioned parking not too far away).

Room Tip: Higher ones are likely to get more light and maybe a rooftop view. There is a small lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel Rosa has the best breakfast you can hope for. Much of the food on offer is home made from locally sourced products and the selection is too enticing for those who are looking to control the calories. The rooms are basic but fine (a fridge would be nice) and the hotel is in the middle of the old town. Parking is easy on the street about 500m away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We made a last-minute booking as a result of a change in travel plans. We were very lucky to discover Hotel Rosa! This is a small, quaint, locally-owned and operated inn right in the middle of Begur. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms were modern, superbly maintained, clean, and well appointed. Breakfast was exceptional. We were very, very pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa

Address: Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Begur
Hotel Rosa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.