We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Begur
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is truly a 'little gem'. Although centrally-located, it was quiet. The beds were comfortable, it was clean and had all the mod cons we like such as air-conditioning, lift, decent- sized en-suite and good breakfast included. The young woman on reception spoke English and was very helpful and friendly. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Parking not available on-site but we had no trouble finding a free parking spot on the street nearby...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our third highly enjoyable visit to the Rosa; a hotel with real character!

It's a small hotel in the centre of Begur, developed over the years from several adjacent buildings. This means that it rambles in a quirky kind of way, and occasionally confuses you as you make your way around. It has a lift, a rooftop sunbathing area, a basement with table tennis and pool tables, a bar and a private parking area. The owners are developing a spa next door to the hotel, which is something to look forward to next year.

Our room was, as usual, bright and comfortable, spotlessly clean and fully equipped. I don't remember an en-suite spa bath on previous visits, but we had one this time. My only criticism would be that the hotel's wifi didn't quite reach us.

The hotel and a restaurant across the alleyway are owned by the same family, and it's here you get the Rosa's superb breakfast. Certainly it's the best we have ever had in Europe, with all the usual cold stuff, plus hot dishes, freshly made bread and pastries, and a great fruit selection.

The only word of warning I would offer about the Rosa is that it's a bit hard to find if arriving in Begur by car, especially at night. This is because you can't drive up to the front door, which is in a pedestrian zone right in the centre of town. The easiest option is to drive towards the centre, park where you can, and reconnoitre the area on foot. It's not a big town and you'll quickly find the hotel, and get directions from them to the best places to park, or to their own car park.

Finally, as many other reviewers have said, what gives the Rosa its special appeal is its people. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and their personalities contribute a huge amount to the Rosa's character. Thanks to them we had another great stay at their hotel, and will certainly be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Very simple rooms but excellent service and wonderful staff. Do not miss the freshly baked organic bread at breakfast or the salt cod provencale at dinner. We were part of a larger group and couldn't have been looked after better. Many thanks!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous but homely hotel, set in the heart of a quiet medieval village. The value for money was outstanding. It was a lovely roomy room. We didn't have a view busy it didn't matter. The decor of the hotel is elegant but be warned, parking is about 100m in a side street. Find a spot and park. The hotel is on the first floor with no lift. Breakfast was good and we had a spectacular evening meal in the gorgeous doing room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This lovely little hotel is right in the center of the medieval town of Begur. The ruins of an ancient fortress hover over the terrace, from which you can enjoy a nice view of the plaza and cathedral. Out the front door are many restaurants, ice cream shops, the plaza lined with outdoor tables and boutiques. I strongly recommend Fonda Caner, the hotel restaurant, which is right across the street. Our room was small, which is what we requested. It was perfect for us as we planned to spend most of our time exploring the nearby beaches and the winding cobblestone streets of the town. There are several nice sitting areas for guests including the above-mentioned rooftop terrace, as well as an atrium and tv room. We stayed for 3 nights and our room was clean, quiet and well-maintained. The staff are a highlight of the Rosa; Pilar and the rest of the front desk personnel were helpful, friendly, and welcoming. (They all spoke English very well, which was much appreciated as my Spanish is very rudimentary). The reservation, check-in and -out were all very efficient. The breakfast was very good; it's served in the Fonda Caner and was a buffet of fruit, eggs, pastries, breads, pizza, etc. I strongly recommend this friendly hotel for those who enjoy walking and exploring on foot, as the parking is on the edge of the village. I enjoyed the walk through the winding streets and we had no problem whatsoever finding the Rosa (keep walking toward the Cathedral and plaza), but it would be more difficult with heavy luggage (ours was on wheels, which worked fine). I would advise against the Rosa for those with disabilities or difficulty walking. Overall, I loved this hotel, hope to return someday and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you like European style hotels, this one's perfect for a stay in this medieval hill town. Good restaurant with great breakfast buffet and a superb and affordable wine list. The town itself is a good center for hiking especially down to the coast. Busses run to the beaches in season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Rosa is located right in the center of Begur so parking is not close, however nothing is very far in this great little town. On arrival we were greeted with a barrage of local info that was very valuable for walking and hiking around the area(which should not be missed). The rooms are smallish but very well presented and easy to get to with the aid of a small elevator. The breakfast buffet includes everything you need, both hot and cold, home baking and fresh espressos and lattes are made to order. Great place!

Room Tip: The jnr suite with a balcony is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa

Address: Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Begur
Hotel Rosa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.