We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in beautiful Begur!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rosa to your Saves list
Hotel Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location in beautiful Begur!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This lovely little hotel is right in the center of the medieval town of Begur. The ruins of an ancient fortress hover over the terrace, from which you can enjoy a nice view of the plaza and cathedral. Out the front door are many restaurants, ice cream shops, the plaza lined with outdoor tables and boutiques. I strongly recommend Fonda Caner, the hotel restaurant, which is right across the street. Our room was small, which is what we requested. It was perfect for us as we planned to spend most of our time exploring the nearby beaches and the winding cobblestone streets of the town. There are several nice sitting areas for guests including the above-mentioned rooftop terrace, as well as an atrium and tv room. We stayed for 3 nights and our room was clean, quiet and well-maintained. The staff are a highlight of the Rosa; Pilar and the rest of the front desk personnel were helpful, friendly, and welcoming. (They all spoke English very well, which was much appreciated as my Spanish is very rudimentary). The reservation, check-in and -out were all very efficient. The breakfast was very good; it's served in the Fonda Caner and was a buffet of fruit, eggs, pastries, breads, pizza, etc. I strongly recommend this friendly hotel for those who enjoy walking and exploring on foot, as the parking is on the edge of the village. I enjoyed the walk through the winding streets and we had no problem whatsoever finding the Rosa (keep walking toward the Cathedral and plaza), but it would be more difficult with heavy luggage (ours was on wheels, which worked fine). I would advise against the Rosa for those with disabilities or difficulty walking. Overall, I loved this hotel, hope to return someday and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you like European style hotels, this one's perfect for a stay in this medieval hill town. Good restaurant with great breakfast buffet and a superb and affordable wine list. The town itself is a good center for hiking especially down to the coast. Busses run to the beaches in season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Rosa is located right in the center of Begur so parking is not close, however nothing is very far in this great little town. On arrival we were greeted with a barrage of local info that was very valuable for walking and hiking around the area(which should not be missed). The rooms are smallish but very well presented and easy to get to with the aid of a small elevator. The breakfast buffet includes everything you need, both hot and cold, home baking and fresh espressos and lattes are made to order. Great place!

Room Tip: The jnr suite with a balcony is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is quite a small hotel with rather ordinary rooms, but the owners have cleverly made room for a pleasant terrace by the bar/reception; and used the lower ground floor to house a television lounge and a games room - so it would be a nice place to stay anyway. But is made even nicer by the staff. Pinar is becoming famous, but the other receptionists (who double as waitresses in the restaurant across the street) are also very friendly and helpful - immediately, for example, providing beach towels when we mentioned that we were thinking of walking down to the beach for a swim. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel rooms had that card system of room lighting that has no individual light control - just all on/all off which didn't help navigation. Another querk was the bathroom plumbing which just didn't always seem to work - you had to wait for it to come through! The excellent breakfasts were taken in the restaurant across the narrow street.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberobello, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A little jewel in the heart of a wonderful historic town like Begur, in Costa Brava. A warm gentle attentive staff, specially the nice lady at the reception: she gives the guests not only the impression of being very efficient and kind, but also all the possible tourist and historic informations one can desire. A very quiet, clean, very well cared place for good value price/quality, a perfect service, a good restaurant. we'll definetely come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Apart from being hard to drive to as it is in the heart of the small roads of the old town [not its fault!] this was a beautiful, clean, small, unbelievably friendly and helpful service, place. Breakfasts are lovely and the restaurant for dinner is magnificent - roof terrace. Great value. A must if in Begur.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa

Address: Pi i Rallo, 19, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Begur
Hotel Rosa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.