We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fantastic but rooms basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Sa Rascassa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Sa Rascassa to your Saves list
Hostal Sa Rascassa
Cala d'Aiguafreda, 3, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Excelente cocina
Ranked #4 of 9 Begur B&B and Inns
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food fantastic but rooms basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We booked the Sa Rascassa after seeing it in Alistair Sawdays Great Places to Stay.......unfortunately it turned out not to be. Their website had indicated that the rooms were air conditioned when they weren't. I must stress here that it was not the Sa Rascassa's website that had indicated this.This then created a knock on effect, whereby in mid July it was essential to open the windows at night to let cool air in. The windows opened over the restaurant from which some noise came, but far worse came from the dive school next door, particularly when they had a night dive followed by a party that went on until 2AM. Now beside the Sa Rascassa is a boat ramp which people on weekends start to use from about 5AM onwards, so sleep was not terribly relaxing. After 2 nights here we simply had to move elsewhere in order to get some sleep. Now as a hostal we weren't expecting a parador, but we did expect a peaceful sleep.This was unfortunate as Oscar ,as other reviewers have written, is a fantastic guy and his staff are superb as is the food in the restaurant. It was really tough to tell him that we wanted to leave and we did explain that it wasn't his website that had given us the misleading information about the aircon. If you are into diving then this place would be ideal and I would certainly reccommend visiting for a meal if you are in the area, but for a family, it just didn't do it for us. Another issue, which Oscar readilly accepts, is parking. On busy July weekends, it is sometimetimes difficult to get parking nearby as you have to share with everyone else trying to get to the water. This was to be the final port of call on a 2 week trip that also included Grupotel Gravina, Barcelona; Rural Hotel Uson, Hecho Valley Aragon; Can Cuadros Palouet Catalunya & Bliss Hotel Begur, Costa Brava..all of which I have also reviewed

  • Liked — food and staff
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights in early June. The hotel is really a very good restaurant with 5 rooms. The rooms are basic but clean and are really quite adequate. There is a patio to sit out on before of after the meal, but apart from that there are no public rooms. Excellent food and a charming proprietor, Oscar, who will talk to you all night!
The area and setting is beautiful, better than expected and it remided me of Majorca with the honey coloured stone buildings.
However, I understand it get s busy in July/August.
We went to the Dali exhibition one day, which was excellent.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Basic rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

Recently spent two nights at the Sa Rascassa. It is an old house converted into a small hotel and a great restaurant. The rooms are clean, but basic. When the weather is nice, there are two patios to sit out on. Also, the manager and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The one small problem is that the rooms do not have the best soundproofing. The first night we heard most of what the 'loud people' staying next to us said and did.

The food is great and while you can easliy walk into Sa Tuna for a meal, the Sa Rascassa has great fresh fish and very helpful staff. It is also get a great spot for diving.

  • Liked — Very friendly and helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Needs better soundproofing to make rooms quieter.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire,U.K.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

We used to own a villa just up the coast at Pals and often dined here. I had to return to the area and wondered where to stay. Sa Rascassa does not have 5* bedrooms, they are more than adequate, but the food and surroundings are 7* !!! Excellent menu, sensitively cooked all local produce, take midge cream if dining outside evenings July August. The manager/owner is a really nice guy and will talk you throught the menu and alter it if asked. In total, a really good restaurant with rooms attached.

Stayed June 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Sa Rascassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sa Rascassa

Address: Cala d'Aiguafreda, 3, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Begur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five twin rooms: with bathroom, heating and TV; and no telephone! mediterranean cuisine restaurant. Under the pine trees, by the sea shore, at Cala d'Aiguafreda. No bars or discos within 2,5 miles; and plenty just at 3. Cosy atmosphere. Open from March to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hostal Sa Rascassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sa Rascassa Hotel Begur
Hostal Sa Rascassa Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Sa Rascassa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.