We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place to Stay in Spain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aiguaclara Hotel to your Saves list
Aiguaclara Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place to Stay in Spain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I just got back from spending two weeks in Spain with my husband and 16 year old son. We had been looking forward to staying at the Aiguaclara in Begur, and exploring the Costa Brava since reading about it here on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. Joan and Clara were wonderful welcoming hosts, and the hotel itself was so charming. The location was perfect, walk to shops and restaurants, historical sites, and a 5 minute drive from several beaches. We loved our room (a junior suite) which had a sitting area with a daybed for our son, doors between for privacy, and a lovely terrace. Breakfast is included and delicious, and I also recommend having dinner at the hotel restaurant, Made with Love, as well. There are two honor bars, a computer, several common areas, and beach towels and toys for the guests to use. We were only at the Aiguaclara for two nights (tried to book three), I would recommend at least three nights in order to fully explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    114
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
192
613
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

It seemed like we were driving to a very random place as we approached the Aiguaclara Hotel, but once inside, we knew we had chosen perfectly. Joan and Clara made us feel like old friends as they showed us around the living room areas downstairs, where we often relaxed playing chess and browsing through the bookshelves. Upstairs, our room had a small adjoining room with two twin beds for our daughters, allowing us to enjoy space and privacy without having to pay for two rooms like many other hotels would require. The rooms in the hotel vary, so be specific with what you need when making reservations. We ended up switching rooms after one night to a larger room. Joan was extremely accommodating and there was no extra charge for the larger space. The hotel serves as a great base for exploring the area. We went to Figueres, Girona, medieval towns, and the coast all from the hotel, and Joan and Clara were always on hand to give directions and lend sand toys for the kids.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as the first. Perfection all round, from the warm welcome we received from our wonderful hosts to the delightful bedroom and convenient location. Although it doesn't have the fancy facilities of a large hotel, such a swimming pool or spa, it is blissfully relaxing and charmingly decorated. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and just hope that Joan and Clara never decide to retire, so that we can go back again and again for many years to come!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Strange as this may sound, we felt more "at home" at Aiguaclara than we do here in New York, and often wondered about the formula for this bizarre, almost cognitively dissonant experience. How can one be so far away from home, and yet so close to it?

Our hosts, Clara and Joan, surely held the much-coveted patent for it. Perhaps it was the kiss on the cheek with which Clara greeted us upon arrival. Or maybe it was the beautifully restored old mansion with a gorgeous restaurant right inside its tented garden. It could have been our room with a view, a rain shower, and a bed so comfortable we couldn't get out of it all morning. Or perhaps it was the countless suitcases that graced in the Almodovar-inspired lobby, each of which surely had a story to tell of a trip somewhere far, far away. Surely the food at the restaurant had something to do with it - the fish was absolutely divine.

Regardless of the exact ingredients that made the Aiguaclara formula so uniquely successful, we felt as though Clara and Joan gave a whole new meaning to the word "charming." Decorated with quirky artwork and mismatched furniture, Aiguaclara was as unique, special, and adorable as the couple who runs it. No other hotel on our trip came even close to it, and they were almost all fantastic hotels.

The morning of our departure, we couldn't leave right away. Instead, we stayed on their terrace sipping freshly squeezed orange juice and playing chess till noon. It was the best morning of our entire vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Very attractive B&B with beautifully restored and decorated rooms and tasty meal available most evenings. On our first night a couple of local restaurants were suggested for us by Clara and we were delighted with our choice. The second night we were joined, in Aiguaclara, by our daughter and her boyfriend (who are living nearby) for dinner which was delicious.
The honesty bars - one in the little library/reading room and the other downstairs in a real chill -out area with a charming patio - are a lovely idea. Our room was airy and light with an exceptionally comfortable bed and the shower was a real pleasure.
We were warmly welcomed by Clara who guided us to the adjacent car park before bringing us into the hotel. The roads in Begur are quite steep and we had some small adventures over the couple of days going to and from the town. Beautiful scenery all over the area.
I would imagine it would be a really lovely romantic break for a young couple as the hosts are welcoming to everyone and "Love is in the Air" is their motto.
P.S. The only reason I would not give this hotel full marks is that I found that while the welcome was very friendly and warm it was a bit too overpowering, from strangers, for us when we were on a first visit - but that could be because we are not quite so effusive by nature.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

A delightful old mansion house transformed into a unique B&B. Joan and Clara were extremely helpful and welcoming. Bed comfortable, room was spacious and filled with light, with superb views. We ate at the hotel's restaurant once, but it was only fair. Fortunately, Begur and the surrounding area have many excellent places to dine. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just home from another relaxing weekend in the beautiful Aiguaclara in the delightful village of Begur. As always Joan and Clara were the perfect hosts and we were warmly welcomed by them and their excellent staff.
The hotel is beautifully furnished in an eclectic and interesting style, the rooms are individually styled and supremely comfortable. Breakfast is a feast of local cheeses, jamon, fruit and Joan's excellent chocolate cake - delicious and a good reason to drag yourself out of bed in the mornings!
If you are travelling around the Costa Brava don't miss this amazing hotel.
Fantastico!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiguaclara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.